"P LOCK MALFUNCTION: WHEN PARKING, PARK IN FLAT PLACE..."

Discussion in 'Prius c Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Blue Ridge Driver, Nov 18, 2017.

1. Blue Ridge Driver

Blue Ridge Driver Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    My 2010 Prius won't start, and shows the "P Lock Malfunction" message whenever I try. Actually the problem now is it won't turn fully OFF, or fully start, so it's stuck in limbo. It seems to be a problem with the Parking button not engaging, or not telling the Power control that it is engaged, like a circuit is short or the wire has malfunctioned. I don't see any problems under the hood, but I am no expert.

In researching chat groups & such, I have yet to see where anyone has come to a decisive conclusion. Lots of advice to check or replace the 12v battery, but it seems when a number of others have tried this, the problem still remains.

Thanks.

2. TMR-JWAP

TMR-JWAP Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    So.....out of curiosity, did you check your 12v? I saw a video posted on the site recently that showed Luscious Garage explaining the same thing. Seems to make sense to me. Faulty/weak 12v = inadequate power for starting up and keeping the electronics functioning correctly.

3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    this one can be difficult. maybe a door not fully closed, all the way to a high voltage leak. did tech stream produce any codes?

4. Blue Ridge Driver

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I didn't get a chance to find out how (all the instructions online that I saw seemed to be for different models than mine?), and now I think the battery has indeed worn down, due to it not being able to power down completely, and my repeated attempts trying. Sigh.

5. Blue Ridge Driver

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Two