p0606 error after cat converter and lambda replacement

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by LuckyLemon335, Aug 12, 2019.

  1. LuckyLemon335

    LuckyLemon335 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    11
    1
    0
    Location:
    London
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi all, my cat converter and lambda were stolen back in February 2019. Cat was replaced with aftermarket one and denso lambda.

    All was fine, but then after about 1000 miles check engine error popped up with code p0606. Error comes on and off randomly about twice a week. I tried replacing lambda with no success. It goes like this for a few months now, average consumption is about 50-60mpg.

    Did anyone face this problem? What would be steps for troubleshooting? Thanks in advance
     
  2. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    2,200
    2,478
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    What does the odometer currently read?

    When was the last time the plugs were changed?

    Have you ever serviced the injectors?
     
  3. LuckyLemon335

    LuckyLemon335 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    11
    1
    0
    Location:
    London
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    120,000 miles
    I got car in 2015 when it was 83,000 (2015) and did not change plugs, so not sure when they were last changed.
    I have never serviced the injector.
     
  4. Patrick Wong

    Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    18,083
    6,057
    0
    Location:
    Green Valley, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    DTC P0606 means that the engine ECU has an internal fault. There are two CPUs within, and apparently they disagree with regards to how much the throttle position should be or how much the accelerator pedal is depressed; hence one or the other has a fault. The fix is to replace the engine ECU which is located behind the glove compartment (at least that is the location for LHD vehicles.)
     
    Paul Schenck likes this.
  5. LuckyLemon335

    LuckyLemon335 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    11
    1
    0
    Location:
    London
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Okay, thank you. So this is completely unrelated to replacement of cat converter and lambda?
    (It find it strange that this error appeared very shortly after lambda and cat replacement.)
     
  6. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    2,200
    2,478
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    My bad with the prior posting. Must've confused your post with a P0420 post.

    You mentioned using a Denso lambda sensor, which part # was installed downstream?

    You might also check for exhaust leaks, and faulty electrical connections.
     
  7. Paul Schenck

    Paul Schenck Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    427
    219
    0
    Location:
    Fresno, California
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I’m ready to swap an engine ecu from a 2006 into my 2005 the part #s don’t look identical. Any advice??


    iPhone ?
     
  8. Patrick Wong

    Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    18,083
    6,057
    0
    Location:
    Green Valley, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    It will not be that easy to remove the engine ECU. My suggestion is that if possible, you try to remove the wiring harness connectors while the ECU remains in place, and see if you can hook up the replacement ECU to verify that the replacement will work.

    Once you've determined that the replacement is working better than the original, then go to the effort to take apart the dashboard to remove the original ECU and install the replacement.
     
    Paul Schenck likes this.
  9. Skibob

    Skibob Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    2,716
    1,388
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    My advice is don’t do it. If the numbers don’t match it probably won’t work
     
Loading...