P0A0D Code after battery replacement. Won't go away please help!

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by fuqya, Nov 11, 2015.

  1. fuqya

    fuqya New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    baltimore
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Ok so I am a technician and my boss owns a couple of prius taxis. One of them had the code to replace hybrid battery pack. After checking all the cells and they were all in spec the code came back every single day so he bought a new hybrid battery pack. After installing the new battery pack The car wont go into ready mode with the message check hybrid system. The code that comes up is P0A0D about the service safety plug. It is plugged in properly pushed all the way to the right and so on. The 120 amp fuse inside of it is good I have tried everything I can think of.We had another 2010 in the shop I tried changing the service safety plug, engine ecu, hv ecu, all to no avail with the same problem. If anyone can help it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot in advance.
     
  2. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    89,469
    40,040
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome! most people miss the last step in the plug. have you looked at the youtube video?
     
  3. Besik Mukhiashvili

    Besik Mukhiashvili New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    Tbilisi, Georgia
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    If you look closely to service safety plug there is additional small contacts. This contacts are used to inform hv ecu that plug inserted correctly. Please check wires from hv ecu to service safety plug socket. (check small additional pins not HV terminals)
     
  4. mrbigh

    mrbigh Prius Absolutum Dominium

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    3,686
    689
    2
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    Make sure the safety orange plug is properly seated. Then reset the CAN code with an scaner.
     
  5. fuqya

    fuqya New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    baltimore
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yes. It is properly seated I see the other connection to inform the ecu that the interlock is fully inserted. Unfortunately my problem is not that easily solved.
     
  6. jdcollins5

    jdcollins5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    5,131
    1,309
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, NC
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Just because you can "see" the connection does not mean that it is made. The DTC is telling you that it is not getting the proper input. Check the connection with a voltmeter to verify.

    Not seating the safety plug correctly is the number one problem we hear on here.
     
  7. fuqya

    fuqya New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    baltimore
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I meant that I can see it as in I know that it is there. I have tested it and it is receiving the proper connection all the way to the HV ECU...
     
  8. fuqya

    fuqya New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2015
    4
    0
    0
    Location:
    baltimore
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Any ideas?
     
  9. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    14,358
    7,124
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
  10. Presurized

    Presurized New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    3
    4
    0
    Location:
    TN
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Does anyone knows if this case was resolved?
     
  11. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    14,358
    7,124
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Look at post #9
     
    m.wynn and Raytheeagle like this.
  12. Presurized

    Presurized New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    3
    4
    0
    Location:
    TN
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Yeah, That did not fix it for me, So far traced it to a broken connection between the main disconnect (the interlock) at the battery and the Hybrid Vehicle Control ECU. I was hoping someone else had the solution but In the process of trying to find the problem i noticed traces of squirrels, So i am pretty sure its a wire somewhere in between.
     
  13. Presurized

    Presurized New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    3
    4
    0
    Location:
    TN
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    SO, i feel like i need to share this. I feel i have found my problem, There is a plug a the back of the car by the battery fan that had corrosion in it, I disconnected it cleaned most of the corrosion, added some dielectric grease and reconnected it, Now the car magically works as expected. It has been 2 days and is still working, I do not know what exactly goes through that connector yet (Big plug 4 wires) 20170812_162158.jpg If anything changes i will share but as of now its fixed!(y).
    i just wonder why is it corroded...:confused:
    I share this just in case someone else find themselves with this problem, Hope it helps someone!:)
    2005 Prius
     
    Excedium, BrennaR, SFO and 1 other person like this.
  14. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    89,469
    40,040
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    congrats and thank you!(y) corrosion is prius middle name.
     
    Presurized likes this.
  15. RSailor

    RSailor New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2019
    5
    4
    0
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA 95014
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Five
    Oh thank you great one! This image has saved me so much coin I must worship the ground you walk on. The car will not start unless the “bale” is closed AND slid into the locked position!

    The hybrid battery replacement vultures were circling. My OBD app does not show P0A0D on my 2010 Prius. I downloaded Dr. Prius on iOS which did.
     
    #15 RSailor, Jul 30, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2019
    bisco likes this.
  16. Lang

    Lang Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2018
    3
    1
    0
    Location:
    Port Townsend
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Wanted to post up the cause of the corrosion, right where the lift supports are mounted to the body of the car get flexed over the years, and end up cracking the factory seam sealer. Water travels through the cracks, into the body, and drips onto this perfectly placed connector. The fix? Clean up the channel with some soapy water, remove the lift support, and get yourself some 3M Drip Check Sealer. Goodluck!
     
    SFO likes this.
Loading...