P0A80 Code, checked battery, all cells fine, cleaned busbars, light still on!

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by dirt657, Dec 21, 2018.

  1. dirt657

    dirt657 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    96
    36
    0
    Location:
    Arroyo Grande, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Checked all the cells, all read the exact same, perfectly fine, cleaned all the busbars, cleaned fan, through it all back together and light came back on. Any idea?
     
    amos likes this.
  2. dirt657

    dirt657 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    96
    36
    0
    Location:
    Arroyo Grande, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Also, this light came on the first time after cleaning the intake manifold. Is there anything that I possibly good have unplugged down there that would’ve thrown a light?
     
    amos likes this.
  3. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    7,412
    9,768
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Anything is possible but the reason that the code displayed will be available through Techstream ;).

    Find out what is causing the code to set and it’ll be better than throwing parts or time at reasons that the code didn’t display. This method works until you get to the last thing you try as that will be the reason it doesn’t have the code anymore.

    But that can take awhile and cost a small fortune:cool:.

    Do you have Techstream or a way to perform further diagnosis?

    Good luck and keep us posted (y).
     
    #3 Raytheeagle, Dec 21, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2018
    amos and jerrymildred like this.
  4. dirt657

    dirt657 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    96
    36
    0
    Location:
    Arroyo Grande, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I do not use tech stream. I’m assuming you download on your laptop and then use a K-Dcan cable? How would I use tech stream for that?
     
    amos likes this.
  5. dirt657

    dirt657 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    96
    36
    0
    Location:
    Arroyo Grande, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Send me a download link if you wouldn’t mind.
     
  6. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    7,412
    9,768
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    I bought a J2534 protocol dongle off of Amazon for ~$20 a couple of years back and have Techstream version 10.30.029 paired to a 20 year old windows cap laptop. It’s te most powerful and useful diagnostic tool for your troubleshooting tool box.

    You need a way to have Techstream read your Prius and this is the cheapest way. A bit more pricey is VX DIAG but this is less buggy and streams the data better.

    Your best option is to find either another member here or a shop that can give you the reason the main battery code is being thrown.

    Good luck and keep us posted (y).
     
    amos and RMB like this.
  7. dirt657

    dirt657 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    96
    36
    0
    Location:
    Arroyo Grande, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I noticed that the battery drains while sitting there....what could that be?
     
  8. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    7,412
    9,768
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    You’ll have to give us some more details like:
    • Sitting there in “ready”?
    • Where do the bars start out at and how fast do they drain?
    • What accessories do you have on during this observation?
    • Does the Prius charge the battery back up?
    • What happens when you force charge it?
    • Will the AC system run if you tried turning that on?
    Good luck and keep us posted (y).
     
    amos likes this.
  9. dirt657

    dirt657 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    96
    36
    0
    Location:
    Arroyo Grande, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Ready stays on
    The bars look normal as a matter of fact the code just came on again on the freeway
    No accessories on
    Battery charges up fine
    I’m not sure how you force charge it
    Ac System works great
     
    amos likes this.
  10. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    7,412
    9,768
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    What do the bars do that you consider normal.

    The more detail the better to help understand what the root cause may be.
     
  11. ALS

    ALS Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    538
    233
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    As far as checking the cells, isn't there a trick of putting them under load to actually find the bad cells? I'm just thinking about other threads discussing this same problem. Where owners were getting normal readings off the the individual units with no load on them, once there was a tiny load on the individual cells the bad ones show up quickly.
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  12. Absalom

    Absalom Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2018
    42
    42
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I have the same issue as OP. I have access to Techstream, is there a flowchart I can run through to diagnose?
     
  13. dirt657

    dirt657 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    96
    36
    0
    Location:
    Arroyo Grande, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    How do I do a load test?
     
  14. Grit

    Grit Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    1,596
    1,413
    1
    Location:
    BOY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    You didn’t mention about torque values on the buss bars.
     
    amos and Raytheeagle like this.
  15. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    7,412
    9,768
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Will you be able to monitor the battery when you put it under load?

    One way to do this is to stress the battery by placing everything at max like the ac system then try to run up an incline.
     
    amos likes this.
  16. Absalom

    Absalom Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2018
    42
    42
    0
    Location:
    Denver
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Any thoughts from others?
     
Loading...