1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

P0A80. Good 12V batt. No other codes

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by xavier nicolas, Apr 7, 2020.

1. xavier nicolas

xavier nicolas New Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hello everyone.

I own a 2nd Prius (2007) with 187k miles.
    I got a master warning triangle with engine check light and exclamation mark. My mother in law was using the car when it happened and was able to drive it back to my place.
    A bit of history: last year, I got the same lights and after the car to a mechanice, they said the hybrid battery is bad and needs to be replaced. called a hybrid battery seller and after testing the hybrid battery, he said the battery is fine. cleared the code. car was fine for over a year until yesterday.

this morning, OBD reader reported a P0a80 code with no other ones.
    I did a little research here and read that the culprit may be the 12 v batt.
    I checked the 12v battery voltage using the onboard computer and it seems fine. (when the car is off, it reads 12.4V, after pressing the start button without foot on the brake, it reads 12 and it goes up to 14 ish volts when the engine runs)

I drove the car a little after clearing the code, and the Hybrid battery seems to charge and discharge fine. it fills up all the way to green and empties itself at (what seems to me) a normal pace.
    The warning lights came back on when the battery was empty (one bar in purple)
    I am going to drive a bit more and find out if I can gather more info.
    Any ideas on what it could be? bad cell? the whole thing?

thank you in advance

2. xavier nicolas

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Update: the hv battery doesnt get charged anymore and only shows one purple bar... Car is only moving on combustion engine and slow

3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in