1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Park my Prius in a small garage

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by jbean, Mar 20, 2014.

1. jbean

jbean Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I have a 2009 Prius and I'm a veteran driver and parker. I just moved over the weekend and my new garage is much smaller than the previous one, but it is a two-car garage. I share it with someone who drives a Jeep. I can't see anything around me beyond the windshield wipers and I would love to hear how other drivers have handled parking in tight spaces, successfully. In the mean time I've been parking in my driveway for fear of denting/scratching my beautiful car. If you have some tips to share, I thank you in advance.

2. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    amazon.com/PARKEZ-Flashing-Light-Parking-Garage/dp/B004Z87ZYW

jbean likes this.
  3. dorunron

dorunron Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I am one of those types who backs in and uses mirrors. If it will fit in there, you should be able to back in. Big plus if you have the back up camera on your Prius. In the old days, hung a key with a string from the ceiling. The key would hit the rear glass when it was time to stop. Of course you had to listen and it needed to be quiet. A tennis ball will also do the same thing.

Pulling straight out seems easier to me than trying to pull in.

Hope this helps.

jbean likes this.
  4. Jason in OZ

Jason in OZ Active Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    i have 2 painted yellow lines on either side of the car space in the garage.
    same as the ones you see in large parking areas. that way i can see the lines when reversing into the garage, and i know im straight. i also have the factory reverse camera, so i can see the rear wall approaching and know when to stop.

Jason.

jbean likes this.