1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Piercy Toyota Review

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Huy, Apr 13, 2013.

1. Huy

Huy New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    So I just bought a new 2013 Prius about 6 weeks ago and put 5,000 miles on it already. ( I work in sales so I travel a lot).

I was up for the 5,000 mile service which is really just the tire rotation and multipoint inspection, i figured what the heck, it's included. I normally do all of this myself since I am anal about my car.

I went and took the car in for the service, and it was done in an hour. I went over the report they gave me on all the things they checked. Sheet was signed saying the tire pressure was set to 33 on the rears and 35. Tread depth was 9mm on both rears, and 8mm on the fronts. I didn't bother to think much until this morning, the day AFTER I had all of this done.

I checked the car this morning, and the tire pressure was set to 36 PSI all around. I normally pump 41 in the front, and 38 in the back anyways.

Then I went and went to check the manufactuer's spec on the Goodyear FuelMax which indicates a new tire is 10/32 all around.

If you do the conversion, 10/32=7.9375mm. They clearly marked my tires as having 9mm, so this is an impossibility.

It's not about if they did it right or not. It's more about if they done it at all and the principal of it. If you written down it was 35, then it should have been set at 35. If you mark it at 33, then it should have been 33.

2. Munpot42

Munpot42 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    sloppy, are you sure they rotated the tires, maybe they just "sunshined" it.

3. xs650

xs650 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Huy,

Are you sure they didn't measure the tread depth in 32nds of an inch? That's pretty standard in the US.