1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

PIP - Transmission speed sensor

Discussion in 'Gen 1 Prius Plug-in 2012-2015' started by VroomVroom13, Jan 18, 2022.

1. VroomVroom13

VroomVroom13 New Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Hi there! I'm hoping for some advice/insight on my 2013 Plug In with 110K. I'm new to PriusChat and couldn't find something similar.

Top concern: I got 12 mpg on a quick 2 mile drive on Saturday morning. It was very cold, 0F but I've never dropped below 40 mpg prior. Could this have been caused by a transmission speed sensor or should I be concerned about the battery health?

I brought the car to Toyota Saturday afternoon after the brake light, ABS, slip indicator, and (!). When I would press on the brake there would be some resistance in the steering wheel and the car would take significantly longer to fully stop. I had taken the car in a few days prior for the same issue and the tech said my non-OEM floor mats caused the break not to fully compress and was triggering the error codes. After another look they said the breaking issue was from a faulty transmission speed sensor that needs to be replaced. I don't have the car back yet to see how that helps my mpg.

I had hoped to keep this car for 200K+ but I'm not sure it's going to make it. Overall, it's been sounding increasingly rough and I've spent a lot of time in and out of service. I had to replace the wheel bearings and repair the heat shield in November. I know a lot of the members of PriusChat work on their cars themselves but I don't have any experience with that. I was able to find a local battery repair shop just in case but they do not do PIPs. I will probably download the Dr.Prius app when I get it back.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

bisco likes this.
  2. QuantumFireball

QuantumFireball Active Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in