1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Please help me understand the 12 volt battery and traction battery

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Rupert B Puppenstein, Nov 6, 2013.

1. Rupert B Puppenstein

Rupert B Puppenstein Active Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I am far from an expert with this car, and bought it because I wanted great gas mileage. However, it appears that something may be happening with either the 12 volt or traction battery in my soon to be two year old 2011 Prius with 62,000 miles. The car starts fine, no strange noises, but the brake warning lights (ABS, Traction, and Brake) won't turn off. So, it was suggested that the battery may be the issue.

However, the battery has never died before, it did sit off and on for a month due to my travel schedule, but last weekend, it was fine. I got a low tire pressure warning like I do every winter and filled the tires to the recommended pressure today and noticed the warning lights. I decided to drive it around a low traffic area by my house and noticed that the battery display was not fully charging even after 45 min. of driving in a hilly area that I typically have no problem getting to the full battery level with.

I do not have the tools to check the battery level tonight, so I will be taking the car to the Toyota dealer tomorrow. But, can anyone explain to me how the 12 volt and the traction batteries work together, and how the 12 volt may affect the traction battery charging? Does Toyota usually cover issues like this, or am I looking at an expensive service bill?

Thanks for your advice and explanations in advance.

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base