1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Poor fuel economy in my 2009

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Fuel Economy' started by ChipotleBlkBean, Apr 9, 2011.

1. ChipotleBlkBean

ChipotleBlkBean New Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I just bought a certified preowned 2009 Prius with 50K. I just filled up two days ago and the trip meter reset by itself. 125 miles later, I have 6/10 of a tank left. I did the math and this is roughly 26 mpg, but my display says that I've averaged 49.9 mpg since then. I am very new at this and love my Prius, so any insight you may have would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

2. F8L

F8L Protecting Habitat & AG Lands

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Your car has a flexible has tank we cal l a bladder. Do a search for bladder and you'll find a wealth of information.

TheShort of it is you cannot count on manual calculations like in a traditional non- flexible tank because capacity changes with temperature. You must record many manual calculations and average them out over many many tank refills. Thankfully others have done this for you and have concluded the MFD readout is pretty accurate but read approx. 2-3% high. This is better then the GENIII which seems to be between 4% and 6% high. The GENiii doesn't have a bladder.

1 person likes this.
  3. cwerdna

cwerdna Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    F8L's advice is spot on. Also, the "guess gauge" is pretty non-linear and the # of miles before the 1st pip vanishes can vary a LOT. It could be very few miles or as many as 150+ (esp. if the gas tank was run down a bit, then topped off while reading full).

1 person likes this.
  4. ChipotleBlkBean

ChipotleBlkBean New Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I did not know that about the gas tank. I will have to read up on that. My question is, can that account for the 20+ mpg I am missing?

5. mikewithaprius