1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Possible Oil Pan Issue

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by AncientSociety, Feb 5, 2019.

1. AncientSociety

AncientSociety New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I was driving on the freeway about 2 hours ago, when I heard a metal clanking sound on the undercarriage of my 2008 Prius. The "Problem" warning came on about 10 times on the short 3 mile drive home since the incident, and when I looked under the car, I noticed oil splattered on the undercarriage. It was on every part surrounding the engine. I know my oil must be low at this point. Any suggestions on what I should do? I'm a broke college student with a baby and I'm not too keen on shelling out $500+ to fix this. I live in Las Vegas, and I'm handy but do not have access to any good jacks or lifts. I don't wanna pay $100 on a diagnosis that tells me my car is fkd when I already know that.

2. Skibob

Skibob Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Check the oil level. Sounds like at minimum you will need whatever is broken. Hopefully it’s just the oil pan, they are probably the cheapest part under there. You can use 2x10’s to raise the car up if you don’t have ramps. Just drive (or push if you have no oil) up on them. Start with longer ones and stack shorter ones on top so you build a ramp of sorts.

#2 Skibob, Feb 5, 2019
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2019
    Raytheeagle and Mendel Leisk like this.
  3. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring

Attached Files:

Raytheeagle and Skibob like this.
  4. edthefox5

edthefox5 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two