Possible to drive 2006 prius never replacing hybrid battery.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Windysurf, Jul 18, 2019.

  1. Windysurf

    Windysurf New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    Frisco TX
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Is it possible to drive an 06 prius without ever replacing the hybrid battery?
     
  2. SFO

    SFO Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    2,413
    2,697
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Welcome to PriusChat!!
    Simple answer : No
     
  3. JimboPalmer

    JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    12,060
    6,337
    1
    Location:
    Greenwood MS USA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    The hybrid battery is the power to start the car, so you could NEVER turn it off.

    The hybrid battery is the sink for the regenerative brakes, so half your braking system would not work.

    You will find that the Atkinson cycle engine is completely gutless, your Prius will be MUCH less quick. 0-60 in 30 seconds instead of 11 seconds.

    For all practical purposes, no. In most states, it is not legal to fuel up with the car running.
     
    Skibob likes this.
  4. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    86,344
    38,245
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    i have to disagree. i have driven all 3 of my prius without ever replacing the hybrid battery
     
    strawbrad likes this.
  5. fotomoto

    fotomoto Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    4,826
    3,141
    0
    Location:
    So. Texas
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Your question is too vague.
     
    Skibob, Raytheeagle and jerrymildred like this.
  6. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    7,210
    8,890
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Welcome. To combine the various possible responses to the vague question, the answer would be, "Yes, but only if the hybrid battery never fails." ;)
     
    Skibob and fotomoto like this.
  7. Rmay635703

    Rmay635703 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2016
    1,393
    890
    0
    Location:
    Somewhere in Wisconsin
    Vehicle:
    2013 Chevy Volt
    Model:
    N/A
    Install a 12 volt starter so you can crank?
     
  8. Skibob

    Skibob Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    2,716
    1,389
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    The answer is no. You have to have at least a semi working battery with enough power in it to start the engine. If you want a car with the same size engine and no traction battery buy an old Scion.
     
  9. fuzzy1

    fuzzy1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    13,331
    6,901
    90
    Location:
    Western Washington
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Between finding a place somewhere to mount and engage it, and reprogramming the ECUs to accommodate the new configuration, I can't image this could possibly be cost effective compared to buying a new battery. And it would still perform terribly compared to a properly working Prius.
     
    Skibob likes this.
  10. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    7,210
    8,890
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    True, but I got a strong smell of sarcasm from his comment. :D
     
  11. mgbmg

    mgbmg New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2019
    2
    1
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hard to believe... my 2006 Prius has 37,000 miles. Is age or mileage the greater predictor for HV battery failure - should I be concerned? Also ... I purchased a "BlueDriver" OBDII link for my gf's Turbo S VW Beetle; she left for vacation, sending it to me for my Gen II Prius. On first blush I am disappointed with the readouts. Is there a better one I should consider or look into this one further?
     
    bisco likes this.
  12. JimboPalmer

    JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    12,060
    6,337
    1
    Location:
    Greenwood MS USA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Heat is the greatest predictor, but between the two you chose, age.

    Boston should not be as hot as long as many areas are.

    Mileage is not a great predictor, as more mileage implies more time being charged, which is good.
     
  13. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    86,344
    38,245
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome!
    unfortunately, yes. a battery used that little is a negative, not a plus. really, there's no point to owning a hybrid if you don't drive much.
    get dr prius, hybrid assistant, torque or tech stream if you want to monitor the battery. do not leave them connected full time.
    the good news is that for $1,600., you can toss in a brand new battery when the time comes, and you'll almost have a brand new vehicle.

    all the best!(y)
     
  14. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    86,344
    38,245
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    another one hit wonder?
     
  15. w2co

    w2co Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    347
    69
    0
    Location:
    Longmont, CO.
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Auto Enginiuty does a good job on battery modules as well, with the Toyota expansion.. I still have my 06' prius with the same battery pack
    still runs at 60 SOC most driving, and still charges back quickly. Now that I found out the battery fan is NG, I'm in a rush to get that fixed
    and save this 13 year old pack...
    With Auto Enginuity one can even plot the BTV or BTA's and SOC's or even temps etc. in real time...
    It outputs an excel file of the plots.
    I once made a 3D plot of all the above along with MG1&MG2 rpm's and temps during a 15 minute ride. The file was huge but it worked great! Sorry it only works in bimbos...i mean windows.
    This is the ONLY reason I keep an old laptop with bimbos XP on it...We run linux only now.
     
    #15 w2co, Jul 30, 2019
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2019
Loading...