1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Potential Buyer; Stop In and Advise

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by Owen H, Mar 17, 2022.

1. Owen H

Owen H New Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hello everyone. I am a new member seeking some guidance from you all. We sold the only reason left to own a pickup, and now I am seeking to buy another prius for my commute (and to haul a dirtbike; 400 lb trailer weight, 60 llb tongue). My budget is about 7-9k and I am okay driving an ugly car, so bring on your side swipes. I really like using my wife's 2014 prius, and it is what I commute in now but I want to swap back and get my own.

I'm a recent engineering graduate and as 'mechanically inclined' as it gets, BUT I hate working on cars. In the past I have built and tuned a VA generation WRX STI, a mid-travel tacoma, and a solid axle swapped old ford for offroad/street fun. After all these, I'm kind of burnt out on crawling around and emptying my wallet over automobiles. I also don't have time for it honestly.

With the Prius, I am looking to avoid problematic years, but am also aware that much of that discussion is exacerbated. I am aware some burn oil, and this is my main concern. How do I avoid this? I do not want to be pulling an engine in 3 months after purchase! I am here to get real world recommendations from people who know about their cars. I'll leave it at that. Ask whatever you want.

Also, I'm aware there are a handful of these threads, but I am looking to get the most current thought on this. Sorry for the redundancy. I posted this here because it seems the most active.

Thanks everyone!

2. JC91006

JC91006 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    If you plan on towing, best to get a Rav4 hybrid. Similar gas mileage, just more room and more power.

3. Owen H

Owen H New Member

Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    N/A