1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Pre-Collision System malfunction...sort of

Discussion in 'Prime Technical Discussion' started by ascii27, Jun 19, 2022.

1. ascii27

ascii27 New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    XLE
    Hi all. I'm a big time NOOB so I hope someone out there can help.

I bought a used Prius Prime from CARMAX and they replaced the front windshield because the previous owner had somehow scratched the crap out of the INSIDE of it. I looked like someone took sandpaper to it.

Anyway, CARMAX got SafeLite to replace it. They re-calibrated whatever needs calibrating and I drove home.
    No problems. No errors. Used cruise control. Used that irritating lane departure thing. No problems.

I opened up the Toyota app on my phone when I got home and it shows an alert.
    "Pre-Collision System
    A malfunction in the Pre-Collision System has been detected. Do not rely on this system. Contract your Toyota dealer to have your vehicle inspected."

I called Toyota (super nice BTW, the 800 number, not a dealer) and the operator logged into my Toyota App account and saw the same thing. He said I should take it to dealer. I called dealer and said, "Sure, Bring it over. It'll cost $630 to recalibrate the windshield."
    I now have an appointment back with CARMAX and they will call SafeLite to have them do it again.
    However, I suspect they won't be able to do anything different and it will show that the car looks fine.
    If I didn't have the Toyota app I wouldn't see anything wrong either.

So...anybody seen this before? Any suggestions?

Thanks

2. kenmce

kenmce High Voltage Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    Limited
    Document as you go along and talk to the carmax guy about exactly what the problem is.

3. alinica2001

alinica2001 Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced