PriiDash(TM): Enhanced Instrument Panel / Data Logger - Now Open Sourced!

Discussion in 'PriiDash (TM)' started by 2009Prius, Jun 26, 2011.

  1. Mozencrath

    Mozencrath Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    47
    2
    0
    Hi - I am trying to diagnose a slow warming ICE, can any of you Priidash users share some of your OBDLog CSV's in temps between 0F and 60F? Preferably some stop and go non-highway driving logs. Thanks!
     
  2. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,702
    478
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Look up posts on engine block heater and grill blocking if you haven't. Good luck!
     
  3. Prodigyplace

    Prodigyplace Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    10,516
    10,052
    0
    Location:
    Central Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Of course, do not block the grill for Gen 4 or Prime since they have active grill shutters.
     
    2009Prius likes this.
  4. Mozencrath

    Mozencrath Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    47
    2
    0
    Hi 2009, I have been an avid user and donator for years, question-what is the diff between wTOBD, wt, and then the dial gauge wt? Which is the actual coolant temp sensor and what sensors do the other two readings get their value from? Thanks
     
  5. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,702
    478
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    wTOBD is just what the OBD standard query returns. It seems to be synthesized from the other two temperatures. I don't know the exact locations of the sensors. From what I can see when using a block heater, wT is the coolant temperature in the engine block (warmer), and iceT is somewhere else (cooler). The two become pretty much the same, very quickly after the engine starts running.
     
  6. Mozencrath

    Mozencrath Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    47
    2
    0
    Can you elaborate on the OBD query returns means? I noticed that with Priidash running and the car not in READY the OBDWt will read room temp while Wt and Wt2 will read much higher i.e. when using a block heater

    Also, what kind of temp increase over ambient are you getting with your block heater?
     
  7. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,702
    478
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    OBD query is explained here:

    OBD-II PIDs - Wikipedia

    I don't have a lot of plots of the temperatures but one plot shows it peaked around 130 F when the ambient was 32 F. It dropped down to around 70 F after the engine starts.
     
  8. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,702
    478
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    2017-01 new version: Add csvtickinterval in INI xml file (default is to save an entry every 1.0 sec); Add Trip2 button and display in Main Window (works like a stopwatch with auto reset)

    Download here:
    PriiDash - Browse Files at SourceForge.net
     
  9. ccdisce

    ccdisce Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    259
    142
    0
    Location:
    Stone Mtn GA USA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    How does one go about setting the baud rate to 921600 as I have a WiFi module that maxes out at this speed.
    I have set the STN chip using the STBR command sequence and verified the comm links with TeraTerm but there is no value of 921600 in the pop down list on the Main Page.
    Neutering the Baud Rate change would be acceptable for those who want to use baud rates other than what are listed on the main page.

    Noticed in the Log File that the ATPP 0C sv xy seems to be currently invoked. Shows up in the command file, have not checked the HTML file.

    w.
     
  10. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,702
    478
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    It looks like I had hard coded a few baud rates: 2M, 1M, 500K and 115.2K. I will add 921600. Are there any others I should add while I am at it? Thanks!
     
  11. ccdisce

    ccdisce Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    259
    142
    0
    Location:
    Stone Mtn GA USA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    That should do it for me as far as baud rates are concerned.

    Is there a way to make Priidash use the WiFi port that is built into the Laptop rather than have to go through a USB<->VCP<->WiFi chain?
    The "comm chain" increases latency which could have performance issues when it has to deal with the various packet sizes I think.

    w.
     
  12. ccdisce

    ccdisce Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    259
    142
    0
    Location:
    Stone Mtn GA USA
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Just to remind you that the ATPP command will not work for a baud rate of 921600 as the granularity of the PP resister is not good enough to get you within +-3%.
    The PP 0c register has to be turned OFF, use whatever baud rate is in the other generator to set its baud rate using the STBR command and its handshake switchover and save.

    This why I think that just neutering the PP methodology, at least for 921600, may be the way to go and just not have a baud rate set code at all by selecting "OTHER" in the pop-down menu. The user should set this baud rate prior to starting Priidash and stick with it.

    w
     
  13. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,702
    478
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Thanks for the comments! Just to be clear, the drop down menu in the PriiDash main window only sets the baud rate for the USB virtual COM port. This is the part that I hard coded to a few choices and I will add a new choice of 921600.

    The baud rate for the OBDII device is set separately: either manually or using AT commands in the command.txt file. Anyone can edit this file to change the AT commands, or as you said set it once and then don't touch it again. Actually this is documented briefly in the file and the ATPP commands are indeed commented out when the file is shipped:

    Code:
    // init and query commands for gen 2 Prius, max line length 1024,
    // format: command 1,command 2,priority;//comments
    // init commands are marked by priority 0
    // query commands can be priority 1 or 2 or 3
    // AT PP commands that only needs to do once for each new ELM327 compatible device
    // ATPP01SV00,ATPP01ON,0;// turn on header by default (ATH1)
    // ATPP03SVFF,ATPP03ON,0;// set default time out time (ATSTFF)
    // ATPP0CSV02,ATPP0CON,0;// set default baud rate
    // ATPP24SVFF,ATPP24ON,0;// turn off CAN auto formatting by default (ATCAF0)
    // End of AT PP commands that only needs to do once
    STI,STDIX,0;//show firmware version, device version
    STSN,STSLCS,0;//show device serial number, PowerSave configuration
    ATPPS,[email protected],0; //show programmable parameters list, device description
    ATSP6,ATDPN,0; // set protocol to #6, check protocol should be 6
    ATL1,ATH1,0; // turn on line feed, turn on header
    ATCAF0,ATSTFF,0; // turn off formatting, set timeout in units of 4 ms; Flyer suggested using FF, may try shorter timeout in case Fujitsu goes to sleep erroneously
    ATSH7E2,0521C3C442D3,1;//query inverter & MG Nm & T, 12V, brake light
    ATSH7E0,03010E04,2;//query IGN & load
    ATSH7E0,0221CD,3;//query ICE torque (N-m) iceNm2
    ATSH7E0,05213C3E2E32,3;//query catT1&2 EVAP
    ATSH7E3,0421d0cecf,2;//query HV battery
    ATSH7E0,020105,3;//query ICE coolant T
    ATSH7E0,032133F5,3;//query atm, misfire
    ATSH7E3,022131,3;//DTC clear run dist
    ATSH7E0,020110,3;//MAF air flow rate (grams/sec) ((A*256)+B)/100
     
  14. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,702
    478
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Forgot to mention I will have to look into the WiFi port but it may be too big a project.
     
  15. kicker22004

    kicker22004 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    11
    1
    2
    Location:
    Oroville
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hi i'm just now finding out about this program as i'm worried about my car's HV battery and figured extra monitoring was needed. I'm a big Linux user but haven't had much success building this so figured i'd use a windows tablet for it instead. My question is how can I make it fullscreen or what do I need to do the change the resolution to my tablets screen? Thank you for your hard work.
     
  16. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,702
    478
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Hi the program has only fixed size windows. If you go to the previous few versions you can find different window sizes. You can also change the screen resolution of your tablet by going to Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Display\Screen Resolution. Good luck!
     
  17. kicker22004

    kicker22004 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    11
    1
    2
    Location:
    Oroville
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I'm just now coming back to this and wanted to say thank you for all of your work on this. Currently i'm trying to get this to compile for Ubuntu so I can use one of my many linux machines to run this instead. However i'm not having any luck compiling this on anything(windows/linux) Can you please go through the steps that you use to compile or even put up a video for others that wonder into this thread? That would be great!. Thank you again.
     
  18. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,702
    478
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Thank you for the interest. I actually haven't compiled for linux for a long time, even though initially I was using Ubuntu. If you go to
    PriiDash(TM) - Enhanced Instrument Panel and Data Logger for the Prius and more
    and look at the section "Note to Contributors", there are some general info on compiling. You can also look in the readme file of each version. Earlier versions use fewer 3rd party libraries so may be easier to compile. Good luck!
     
  19. kicker22004

    kicker22004 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2016
    11
    1
    2
    Location:
    Oroville
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Yeah i've been all through that and even found an old version that had a compiled version for Ubuntu (
    2011-12-20). This zip had the file /bin/priidash_Ubuntu, but was unable to exicute it withing linux through the normal methods as ./priidash_Ubuntu even after giving it permissions. Any advice on that?

    Also if I decide to stick to windows do you recommend any tablets that work well with the resolution provided? My laptop is a bit big and power hungry. Thanks again.
     
  20. 2009Prius

    2009Prius A Wimpy DIYer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    2,702
    478
    63
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Ok I looked in the readme file for that version and it says linux needs to recompile. Also the size of the priidash_Ubuntu file is only 99 kB - seems too small. Well after further digging it looks like even the earliest version says linux needs to recompile. So unfortunately it looks like I have stopped using Ubuntu early on.

    For the resolution, I think the MFD version window size is about 1050x700, and the previous one was slightly smaller than 1280x768. I don't think you need a very powerful computer to run the program. I am using a netbook (got one before they went extinct). Good luck and let me know if you still need help.
     
Loading...