1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius 2003 with 12v not charging and door ajar show as open

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by Paul Huynh, Jun 7, 2016.

1. Paul Huynh

Paul Huynh New Member

Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    Model:
    I
    I have a Prius 2003 with 122k
    My inverter water pump making noise it running but i do not see any coolant movement. Does this mean it a bad pump and need to be replace?

My door ajar warning light stay on all the time. I have check door sensors and the trunk lid sensor they all seem to be function. Does anyone know where the wiring for the door ajar end up to the ECU maybe i can just short or by pass it? This maybe the cause of my 12V battery keep getting drain

I am just starting to getting into prius ... they are so cool but please be patient with me as i am no expert.

2. DRACO

DRACO Member

Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    One
    Welcome aboard.

Yes, inverter pump needs replacing. do it sooner than later as it will damage the inverter which is not cheap.

As far as the door ajar sensor. We need more information, was it every in an accident? The sensor may be stuck or corrosion has caused the senor to stay on. I would take each sensor/switch out and clean with contact cleaner and look for obvious damage.

Paul Huynh likes this.
  3. Paul Huynh

Paul Huynh New Member

Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    Model:
    I
    As far as I know and see the car have not been in an accident. I bought the car used with the problem just trying to fixed it and put her back on the road.

Draco is there a way to close loop let the car think all the door are close. I am not too worry about the door ajar warning light as much as it draining the 12v battery.

Any help would be very thankful by this newb

4. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two