Prius 2012 video-in question

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by ProInstall, Mar 2, 2013.

  1. ProInstall

    ProInstall Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    10
    4
    0
    Location:
    Australia QLD
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi to all hybrid fans,
    This my first appearance here as I recently purchased my Prius i-Tech (highest equipment for the model in Australia) and I have already started with the after-factory tweaking. I'm autoelectrician by trade and the circuits of the Prius are familiar to me.
    My project is to mirror my iPhone 5 on the MFD display to use my favourite Tom-tom navigation app. I have manage to lock-pick it to work in motion (using info from Priuschat), but I'm lacking on information about the Video-in pins and how to activate VTR menu. Using the search I have found this "In-dash Nav Unit: Video input?". In this thread they suggest using "Beat-Sonic AVC39 Audio Video RCA Input Cable Harness". Unfortunately Beat-Sonic do not ship to Australia. It appears on the photo of the harness that it is just a harness (passive with no electronics in it), that means that I can replicate it's function. I'm guessing that two pins are shortened to activate VTR menu function and the RCA leads have to be connected to the AV in pins. For video-out of my iPhone, I'm going to use lightening to HDMI adapter found on Apple store connected to HDMI to CVBS (normal SD video signal).
    My question is, do anyone know the pin-outs of the plug where Beat-Sonic harness is connected to the MFD?

    P.S. Could not find my Prius model in the profile settings. Otherwise, Priuschat is nice place.
     
  2. ProInstall

    ProInstall Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    10
    4
    0
    Location:
    Australia QLD
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Beat-Sonic has Japan office which ships to Australia. Harness ordered. I will keep the thread updated.
     
  3. Lutchenko

    Lutchenko Will Perrin

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    307
    211
    21
    Location:
    Milton Keynes England
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Welcome to priuschat.
    I think the models listed are all US based as my UK Prius isn't listed either.

    Your project sounds very interesting, I look forward to seeing how you get on
     
  4. ProInstall

    ProInstall Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    10
    4
    0
    Location:
    Australia QLD
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I hope you are not right because I just spend $110. I ask them specificity for the Aussie version and they told me that it is going to activate the VTR. However, I also spend $15 on the TIS database to download the entire Prius 2012 repair manual including all of the electrical drawings. I din't find any pins suggesting that there is an input or activating signal. There must be something hidden even for Toyota service personal. So it is eider global conspiracy or miracle. I look forward to see if it works.
     
  5. BernardGprius

    BernardGprius New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    1
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    II
  6. ProInstall

    ProInstall Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    10
    4
    0
    Location:
    Australia QLD
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yes. It can be done without the harness, but you have to find the proper pins to put in to the empty holes of the plug. The harness is very good quality and it is totally wort the money. I will make a guide later on "how to connect external AV sources to prius 2012". I currently have DVB-T tuner, WD media player and my iphone 5 connected to the main screen.
     
    MK500 likes this.
  7. MK500

    MK500 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    92
    41
    6
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Would you please take close up pictures of the avc39 and let us know which pin does what? This would be very useful information in case we want to try it without buying the avc39. Thanks!
     
  8. ProInstall

    ProInstall Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    10
    4
    0
    Location:
    Australia QLD
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Here they are: (note: you have to click on the images to enlarge)

    IMG_2422.JPG

    IMG_2426.JPG
    this is how the Beat-Sonic AVC39 Audio Video RCA Input Cable Harness harness looks and the pins involved. The bottom row left to right:
    white-audio left
    black-audio GND
    red-audio right
    TOP row:
    blue-video GND
    yellow-video signal
    black-GND for video coax shield
    Look at the black striped wire that loops two pins. This is activating the actual A/V input.
    IMG_2430.JPG

    This photo shows the original plug in the car. You probably already notice that few of the pins that AVC39 is using are taken. Those wires are connecting the audio phono jack in the armrest. So if you decide to go and DIY Video in adapter, you can just connect your audio signal in the armrest AUX connector and put pins only for the video. You will have to short the pins where the wire loop from AVC39 harness is shortening.
    IMG_2432.JPG
    This is the AVC39 harness connected to the head unit.
    IMG_2428.JPG IMG_2429.JPG
    This is what the screen shows if the A/V input is activated successful, but with no video signal.
    IMG_2451.JPG
    Lightening to HDMI adapter for my iPhone and very light HDMI cable from Apple store.
    IMG_6603.JPG

    It allows to mirror the iPhone screen over HDMI signal so it can be connected to different monitors and projectors.
    Here is a little BUG. It can also charge the phone if the charger is connected to the female Lightening connector into the adapter. Now, I'm using cigaret lighter USB charger to supply power to the phone. The charger is connected to the accessory power supply from the vehicle which stops charging every time I turn off the vehicle. If I turn it back on and the HDMI adapter is still connected to the the iPhone, it does not resume charging. I have to reconnect the Lightning plug to start charging again.
    IMG_6608.JPG

    It articulates perfectly the iPhone display and my favorite TomTom navigation.

    IMG_6606_resize.JPG
    Little BUG again. If I turn the phone upright, the image on the monitor stays upright, but it shrinks in a tiny vertical strip in the middle. Not very nice to watch on SD resolution.
    IMG_2475.JPG

    This is the DVB-T tuner and the WD Media player which I also connect to the system.
    IMG_2477.JPG IMG_2478.JPG
    I have made a 3 way A/V switcher so I can choose what I want to watch. The audio from the iPhone I take from the its headphone jack,
    because I'm mixing it over all the other devices so I can hear the navigation lady even when I'm watching movie,
    because is better quality signal then the HDMI to AV adapter's output
    and because I can control the volume from the iPhone to level it with the other sources.
    IMG_2476.JPG
    OK. The round button switches the speed signal and the hand brake signal to the head unit ON and OFF for the times when the car goes to service. Next one switches the source(SRC) 2 and SRC 3. Last one switches between iPhone and the other two sources(SRC2 and SRC3).
    IMG_2485.JPG
    This is how it looks in the car.
    IMG_2488.JPG

    USB extension leads in the glovebox.
    IMG_2481.JPG

    I choose to put all the equipment under the driver seat (note: right hand drive) because there is a lot of spare room, it is easy accessible, there is power from the amplifier, cooling from the aircon and existing wiring to run my cables over.
    IMG_2489.JPG
    This is how it looks when everything is connected.

    I will post some more photos of the finished installation tomorrow.

    Enjoy!
     
    OzPrius, SAronian and MK500 like this.
  9. MK500

    MK500 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    92
    41
    6
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    This is extremely helpful!! THANK YOU!

    Hmmm...I'm extremely curious where the orange and white wires go on the original harness. These are the ones we short to activate video. They must go somewhere :)

    Not important to get video working, but I wonder...
     
    DocToss likes this.
  10. ProInstall

    ProInstall Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    10
    4
    0
    Location:
    Australia QLD
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I will just guess here. :unsure: Probably they use short to activate Audio and Video input and resistor to activate audio only, which is connected to the AUX jack in the armrest. Meaning that if you plug a device in the AUX, the jack itself connects a resistor between orange and white.
    I'm quite busy moving home, otherwise I want to remove the DVB-t receiver because the DTV signal in Brisbane is terrible. Can be watched only in some areas and no chance will in motion. When I pull it apart, will give it a test.

    PS: Local TV doesn't worth watching anyway :eek:
     
  11. peterjmc

    peterjmc Ping pong in Ding Dang...

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    899
    184
    0
    Location:
    Clarksburg, MD
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    With the Beatsonic harness in place, does it allow you to continue to watch video on the screen while the car is in motion?
     
  12. ProInstall

    ProInstall Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    10
    4
    0
    Location:
    Australia QLD
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    No. It does not. You will have to find the information for the lock pick in this forum. It is easy procedure.
     
  13. splitz

    splitz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    9
    2
    0
    Location:
    Starkville, Mississippi
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    III
    Does the parking brake need to be engaged for the VTR to work like the DVD feature?

    I'm wondering because I'm hoping that the DIY speed override is the only thing I need to do.
     
  14. ProInstall

    ProInstall Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    10
    4
    0
    Location:
    Australia QLD
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Yes. You have to apply negative to the handbrake feed. Please use the search. There is very good guide.
     
  15. splitz

    splitz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    9
    2
    0
    Location:
    Starkville, Mississippi
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    III
    Cool thanks.
     
  16. tach18k

    tach18k Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    406
    38
    1
    Location:
    SoCal Beach Area
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Very cool, so once it is working can the iPhone be controlled by the dash screen? That would make things real nice
     
  17. ProInstall

    ProInstall Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    10
    4
    0
    Location:
    Australia QLD
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Unfortunately, no. It is only image mirror. The only reason I've connected the iPhone is because it was overheating when I use it as GPS on the dashboard.
     
  18. tach18k

    tach18k Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    406
    38
    1
    Location:
    SoCal Beach Area
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Dang too bad, iPad mini I guess. One or two apps I use all the time are not available on android/google devices otherwise I would swap out the headunit and go to a Samsung phone for the mirrored touch screen.
     
  19. splitz

    splitz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2014
    9
    2
    0
    Location:
    Starkville, Mississippi
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius c
    Model:
    III
    ProInstall - I've searched for the handbrake solution. I *think* it is a simple as grounding pin-6 on L111. Is that how you did it?

    I've built the low-speed bypass and I plan on using a switch that engages both the low-speed and parking brake bypass circuits.
     
  20. peterjmc

    peterjmc Ping pong in Ding Dang...

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    899
    184
    0
    Location:
    Clarksburg, MD
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Advanced
    How do you build your own low speed bypass?
     
Loading...