1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius 2013 Plug-in - UK Newbie Intro and Questions

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by Andy Cooper, Feb 13, 2018.

1. Andy Cooper

Andy Cooper New Member

Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Excel
    Hi UK Prius Newbie here!

I feel very late to the Prius party after downsizing a gas guzzling 4x4 Volvo to a Dec 2013 four-year-old Prius 3rd Gen plug-in with just 16k miles on the clock and one careful female former owner. As 95% of our 8k per annum journeys are in a small City and below 5 miles, it made sense to get something nimble, economical and good for the environment.

It have spent quite a while reading the user manuals and dipping through the wealth of knowledge on this forum (thank you everyone!). However, I do have a few newbie questions that others may be able to provide or direct me to answers that already exist:

(i) It's chilly here in the UK but on a full charge the electric range is showing as 12.7 miles instead of the 15 advertised. Is that within the expected range for a 4-year-old battery?

(ii) When the Navigation system is connected to a mobile phone, will it update the route based on travel conditions? (I'm guessing not as it seems very basic).

(iii) Toyota didn't provide the car with any mats or accessories, so I have ordered footwell and luggage mats. However, I am having trouble sourcing a roll-out load cover for this model (ebay has some scruffy second hand ones for an expensive £110/$150). Does anyone know a good source by any chance? (UK if possible)

(iv) We have two kids aged 7 and 10 who enjoy family bike rides. Does anyone know the best way to transport four bikes on a Prius plug-in? My guess is two on the roof and two on the back, but I'm wondering whether a tow-bar based four bike carrier is a better option? or is a Saris Bones three-bike a good way to go?