1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius and the Newborn Baby

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by ArcticPrius, Mar 4, 2009.

1. ArcticPrius

ArcticPrius Prius Owner

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    So we have a '09 Touring Prius. My wife is due early next month and I am trying (read: freaking out) to make sure the car is ready for the baby. This is our first child so I am new to all this baby stuff. I think I kind of understand the LATCH system but want to know from others experiences any lessons I can learn the easy way. What do I need to do to ensure my baby is safe and have maximum storage capacity for future baby trips? Thanks!

2. efusco

efusco Moderator Emeritus
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Rear facing car seat. It's nice to have one of those mirrors that mount on the head-rest so you can look in the rear-view mirror and see the baby's reflection in the mirror on the head-rest. But it's not essential.

If you want, call a local hospital and ask if they're doing any car-seat installs or if they help with those...many do. That way they can show you how to level it, and make sure it's secure and pat you on the knee for reassurance!

Other than that it's really not a big deal.

3. judymcfarland

judymcfarland Queen of Moral Indignation

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    When I saw this thread title, I was imagining the first baby born in a Prius. Word to the wise from my son & his wife whose 3rd child was born in a Starbucks parking lot in a blizzard: be sure you go the hospital early enough!

4. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Don't forget to read the instructions that come with the rear facing seat. Unfortunately, the baby won't come with instructions.

Tom

5. patsparks

patsparks An Aussie perspective

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    The red cross here help with car seat installs.