1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius Battery with no codes but not optimal

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by craigspofford, Apr 4, 2017.

1. craigspofford

craigspofford Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    One
    I have only had my 05 Prius since December 2016. My wife drives it for work and and commutes a long way too. Has put about 6,000 miles on it since acquiring with family trips and work related driving.
    No warning codes, but the battery does not seem to hold the charge like it did early on. Battery is blue more than green except after long drive to and from work. Shorter drives require more from the gas motor than it originally did.
    As I am a Prius newbie I am looking for possible thoughts on maintenance. Every thread I read all start with people dealing with warning codes. I have not had any codes, just want to deal with these notices changes in performance.
    I live north of the Minneapolis/St. Paul area and there are no "certified" HV type shops relatively near me that I can find anyway - only dealers.
    Car has 129,000 and otherwise seems to run ok.
    Gas mileage still is about 40 or more.
    Ideas? Thoughts?

jeff652 likes this.
  2. Patrick Wong

Patrick Wong DIY Enthusiast

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    1. The Prius state of charge gauge typically should reside in the 3 to 6 blue bar area, unless you have descended a relatively long mountainous road in which case it may rise to 7 or 8 green bars. It will drop down to the 1 to 2 red bar area when the air conditioner is in heavy use and the car is in stop and go driving.
    2. You need to consider that the ambient air temperature in your area has risen from an average high in the 20's back in January, to the 60s in April. That may have an impact on the battery performance.