Prius been sitting - won't start

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Steelerfan2018, Mar 15, 2019.

  1. Steelerfan2018

    Steelerfan2018 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    38
    13
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Hi all,
    My 2008 prius has been sitting for a few weeks and now when I go to start it, I get blinking lights. The car was running perfectly before I parked it. When I bought it last year, it had a new 12v battery.

    I found a video on youtube showing how to do the jump/charge under the hood.

    I have a battery charger from Harbor Freight 4-in-1 Jump Starter with Air Compressor that I tried to use, but it didn't really work. Most likely the charger itself needed charging...

    I found a video on youtube showing how to do the jump/charge under the hood.

    Anyway, when the weather clears up I will hook up a trickle charge to it - any recommendations on how best to do this? What volt setting? How long?

    Also - any chance this will mess up the big battery? Making me paranoid...

    Thanks,
    Rob
     
  2. N3K X8

    N3K X8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2019
    8
    5
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Its the 12v battery. Don't worry its nothing huge. Just charge the battery overnight and you should be set in the morning.

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    kenoarto likes this.
  3. Steelerfan2018

    Steelerfan2018 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    38
    13
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    thanks for the quick response. Can I charge it from the connections under the hood? Or do I have to go directly to the battery in the trunk?
     
  4. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    7,216
    8,905
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Yes. Also, it's an AGM battery so use a charger designed to work with that type of battery. I think that some auto-detect and but with mine I have to select it myself.

    And be very sure you have the polarity right. Reversing it can be expensive on a Prius.

    But otherwise, it just like jumping or charging any other car's 12V. :D
     
    Skibob likes this.
  5. Steelerfan2018

    Steelerfan2018 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    38
    13
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Four
  6. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    7,216
    8,905
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    I would not use that charger. But this one would work and it costs a little less.
    EverStart 25A Smart Battery Charger - Walmart.com

    The jump start should be fine. It's not charging, just giving a quick boost. You could use the battery from a UPS to jump a Prius. It take very little power.
     
    Skibob likes this.
  7. Steelerfan2018

    Steelerfan2018 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    38
    13
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Thanks again. I will check out that charger.
     
    jerrymildred likes this.
  8. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    4,082
    2,174
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I would not use a 25 A charger on an OEM 12 V battery. Find one that is a multi-stage model that does 3 - 4.3 A (max) and has an AGM setting.
     
    jerrymildred likes this.
  9. Leadfoot J. McCoalroller

    Leadfoot J. McCoalroller Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2018
    3,210
    3,092
    1
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    For a one-off boost charge that cen-tech charger would do just fine on the 2A setting.

    For regular charging there are better options.
     
    Skibob likes this.
  10. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    7,216
    8,905
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    It does have a 10A setting. But you're right that lower is preferred. In the 2007 OM, in the specifications area, it says that the max rate of charge is 3.5 amps. But it isn't clear if that's the max that the inverter puts into the battery or the max that the battery can absorb. I'm inclined to think, given the 120V inverters in use by many people, that the 3.5A is the max the battery should receive.
     
  11. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    7,216
    8,905
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    I stand corrected. Even that charger is too high powered as pointed out by @dolj. I didn't notice that it won't go below 10 amps. Too much current for your car's battery.
     
  12. Steelerfan2018

    Steelerfan2018 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    38
    13
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    update - I was checking the ad for harbor freight and they had a charger with AGM on sale for $30. Picked it up yesterday.

    From what I can tell, I should have it set to AGM and 2a (trickle) - which I will do today.

    Thanks everyone for the help.

    Rob
     
    Skibob, Raytheeagle and jerrymildred like this.
  13. frodoz737

    frodoz737 Top Wrench

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    4,225
    2,151
    33
    Location:
    Texas
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    You can just jump start from "another vehicle" using positive on jump point under hood and a good ground for the negative. Doesn't need much to boot the boxes.
     
  14. Skibob

    Skibob Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    2,716
    1,389
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    It has a manual 2amp setting so it will work just fine. As long as the user remembers to set it at 2 amps that is.
     
Loading...