1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius C 2015 Major Repair and Cost

Discussion in 'Prius c Main Forum' started by TimoSpenter56, Mar 8, 2023.

1. TimoSpenter56

TimoSpenter56 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius c
    Model:
    One
    Hello. I have a 2015 Prius C with around 55k miles and starting to wonder if there's any major cost coming up for maintenance so that I can save up for it. I do regular oil changes, and replaced the battery 2 years ago, and replaced all 4 tires last year, so I think it is in good shape.

I do not drive it much or go too far because I work from home for the past 2 years, but not certain if there's maintenance cost coming up due to car age alone? I have very little knowledge of cars and couldn't find a quick google search answer as to if maintenance is based on car age or mileage put in.

I would appreciate and welcome my fellow prius c drivers or prius experts advice and suggestions regarding major costs for the car I should be aware of as I'm nearing the 10 year mark soon.

Thank you and advance.

Cheers.

Pri3C likes this.
  2. Leadfoot J. McCoalroller

Leadfoot J. McCoalroller Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    The hybrid battery is probably the only one you need to worry about. You'd do well to budget about $3k (in today's dollars)

As to when? Toyota seems to expect them to last 10-12 years. This website has reports of some premature failures, and the very oldest Prius c in the world just turned 11 this past December just to give you a frame of reference.

If the big-body Prius (which has been around longer) is used as an example, we know that some of them kept their original batteries much longer.