1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius c towing

Discussion in 'Prius c Main Forum' started by victoriax, Apr 24, 2021.

1. victoriax

victoriax New Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Tesla Model X
    Model:
    N/A
    Hi all,

I am new to the Prius world. I am thinking about switching over from a Tesla to a 2018 Prius c. I have a great car that I have been back and forth with about possibly buying. Thing is, I am also buying a jetski in the next few weeks for the upcoming summer months. My dilemma is I need to be able to trailer the ski but I need/want the car for commuting and its great mpg. The more I research i do on this topic the more confused I become. Some say you can some say no way some people trailer way more than I plan and then I read you're crazy if you trailer. I figured I would come here for some good knowledge, insight and experiences. I'm sure carrying the ski is possible but I'm most worried about pulling it out of the water on the ramp. Ski is about 800 lbs.

Any thoughts and advice is much appreciated :)
    Thanks all!

2. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    i don't own a c or a ski, but i wouldn't tow 800 lbs with my prius, that seems like a lot.

some of it depends on the route, speed, hills, temp and etc.

i'm not against towing, but i think you need to be cautious. hopefully someone who owns a c and has pulled 800 lbs out of the water can advise you.

how much you want for the tesla?:)

3. Leadfoot J. McCoalroller

Leadfoot J. McCoalroller Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    If that's an 800lb ski and a sub-200lb trailer and you're pulling it across flat ground a few miles to the lake? I wouldn't worry at all.

While i have not launched or recovered boats with my Prius, I'd be pretty confident. Electric torque is no joke, and a Prius gives you plenty and very good control over it.