1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius Fuel Gauge Not Moving!

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Technical Discussion' started by Brendan Sage, Feb 21, 2017.

1. Brendan Sage

Brendan Sage New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Three Touring
    Hello I just got my first Prius 3 weeks ago. It's my first car so I'm new to the Prius world and car world.

The first two weeks this problem never surfaced but last week when it was on its last bar I waited to see how long that would last but before I went home I filled up.

Upon turning on the car the fuel gauge didn't move at all. I wonder why but just kept driving. Two days later and still not moving. I was going on the highway but filled up again so I wouldn't run out of gas. I ended up accidentally filling up the car when it almost poured out.

The fuel gauge again didn't move one bit. I tried that method to reset it but that never does anything for me.

I drive a 2008 model and want this fixed right away. I would hate to have to bring it in as money is tight. Any advice?

iPhone ?

2. jerrymildred

jerrymildred Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Welcome to PC, Brendan.
    That happened to me on my '05. I parked on level ground and disconnected the battery negative wire for a minute. That took care of it. Why did it happen? I have no idea. Has not done it again. Of course I had to re-enter all my radio stations again. :rolleyes:

3. fuzzy1

fuzzy1 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    A separate issue from your gauge not showing the fillup ...

That last bar will never go completely away, even when the tank is empty. It should start blinking before you run out, but a number of other Gen2 owners here have experienced empty tanks with one solid bar still showing, and even a few with two solid bars showing.

4. Brendan Sage

Brendan Sage New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model: