1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius Hijacked......

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by simple_in_seattle, Nov 6, 2005.

1. simple_in_seattle

simple_in_seattle New Member

I just picked up my new prius yesterday from my uncle, who sells Toyota's in Moscow, ID. Its a package 4, Tideland Pearl 05. It came in at 24k and change with all the options. I could have picked up the extended warranty for $700 more but opted to wait until later. I drove it back over the Snoqualmie pass in Washington the very same day to my home in Lake Stevens, WA. Averaged 47mpg thus far on 3/4 of a tank...which includes going over some mountain passes!

I used cruise control for much of the trip because I found it gave me good consistent milage. I'm no expert on pulse and glide yet. Its not that easy!

I can't tell you how impressed I am. All cars have their deficiencies. Fortunately, all of my Prius' can be remedied. My only real gripe at the moment is the cloth seats. I've done my own seatcover installations so I'll likely be upgrading them myself in the future. Its not that difficult.

Here comes the bad news.....

So I come home and show the kids (8yo and 11yo) and they are totally blown away. I mean they absolutely love the technology, the screen, features, etc. What's worse.....my wife. I give her the second FOB and she jumps in to take it for a ride. I give her a quick breakdown on how to drive it, etc. We jump in and take it for a brief ride.

Then...the unthinkable!

"I like this...I want one!"

Although, I think we'll be looking at the Highlander for her in March when her Volvo lease runs out. Thank god I have an uncle in the Toyota business or I'd never get my hands on a Highlander.

Future upgrades: