1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius hv battery maintenance ( check hybrid system )

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Care, Maintenance & Troubleshooting' started by zoeboi954, Nov 30, 2016.

1. zoeboi954

zoeboi954 Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    So my prius check hybrid system came on and I took it to the dealership and was told that the hv battery need to be replace. I decided to do it myself because I have some basic knowledge and working with electronics. So after watching a couple of YouTube videos I took out the battery and began to test it. I already bought a cell module online. but my problem was all the tested out good all showed above 7.7 volts. this left me stuck cause I was expecting a bad cell. I even tested by pair getting around 15.5v.

the only thing I could think of is the fan because it was extremely dirty but can that cause a check hybrid system and give the code bad battery pack?

2. mrbigh

mrbigh Prius Absolutum Dominium

Vehicle:
    Other Electric Vehicle
    you should measure the individual battery modules under load, that procedure will indicate witch module is not passing current and the Hybrid battery disconnected from the car.
    It is a dangerous job having exposed HV, this should be made in a controlled environment and with appropriate instrument and tools like, Safety rubber gloves for HV environments.

3. ericbecky

ericbecky Hybrid Battery Hero

Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Also, you should get tools to read the codes for your car.
    As you do this kind of work on your car, you'll be running blind without it.
    Errors will come up and you don't want to do the error code reads yourself.

4. FuelMiser

FuelMiser Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2016 Prius
    Model:
    Touring