1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius in snow/ice?

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by Lynn5707, May 28, 2013.

1. Lynn5707

Lynn5707 New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A

This is my first time here. I am thinking of getting a Prius, currently have 4x4 Jeep. How does Prius perform in bad weather, ESP. Snow and ice?

Thanks!

Lynn

2. brucepmiller

brucepmiller Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius c
    Model:
    Two
    I put aggressive snow tires on all four wheels last winter and did fine on the few days that it was an issue.

3. Robert Smith

Robert Smith New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    It won't do as well as a 4x4 Jeep, but my 2008 Prius does well in snow and icy conditions.

4. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    It will do as well as any front wheel drive car with similar ground clearance.

5. Lynn5707

Lynn5707 New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
  6. 2k1Toaster

2k1Toaster Brand New Prius Batteries

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Driving in snow is more of a driver art than a car's capability.

A moron driving a 4x4 will not necessarily drive better than someone in a FWD vehicle. We have 3 AWD vehicles but more FWD and RWD. I almost always drive the Prius which is FWD through the snow and mountains. Everything from climbing thousands of vertical feet to get home (live on a mountain) or driving a couple hours into ski country on back-road passes to avoid the tourist trap route. The Prius does just fine.