1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius or Corolla?

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by mjhcftuhgg, Apr 17, 2018.

1. mjhcftuhgg

mjhcftuhgg New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Last car was 2003 Honda Civic I bought used for $5k. Was fine, except I felt it was at the mechanic a lot, as I took it from 110k to 220k miles. My overall average was 30 MPG (= city MPG spec).

This time I can spend maybe $8k to $12k? I'm looking at Toyotas because people say they're more reliable.

I drive about 15k miles/year, moderate stop-and-go traffic. I'm not good at making decisions and don't have strong "car desires". It's just utilitarian for the most part. I guess I have a strong desire to not have it break down a lot, because that results in me being stranded and stressed.

Prius:
    • Should be cheaper over the life of the car, due to lower gas and repair costs (according to my somewhat crude analysis)
    • More cargo volume?
    • Can't be put into neutral if it breaks down?
    • Not as good in snow or dirt roads (camping)?
    • Worse visibility out the back?
    • I have enough savings for the big repairs if needed (but no one to drive me around while it's out of service)
    • People will make fun of me if I drive one? :D I already got mocked just for test-driving one.

Corolla
    I test-drove a Prius and it was eerily quiet but otherwise fine; felt like driving anything else. I sat in the back and it was fine.
    I haven't actually driven a Corolla, but I imagine it's not much different from the Civic.

Anything else I should consider? Any advice? Am I dumb for only considering these two models?

bisco likes this.
  2. Tideland Prius

Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A