1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Prius owners, I need some information

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by atimmons, Nov 12, 2009.

1. atimmons

atimmons New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A

I'm a journalism student and am currently writing a news story about "going green" for one of my newswriting classes.

I've decided to focus on the pros and cons of owning and maintaining a hybrid vehicle. More specifically, the Prius.

I'm going to leave this open-ended. I want to hear about any noteworthy ownership experiences, potential large repair bills, OBSERVED fuel economy (with an emphasis on observed!), FACTUAL rebuttals to any widespread rumors or myths etc...

Thank you in advance for helping me out with this! FYI, this is not a Prius-bashing story :), i'm merely striving to present both the pros and cons.

Cheers!
    Alex.

2. Politburo

Politburo Active Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    The vast amount of information already on this website addresses most, if not all, of your requests.. poke around some of the threads with large numbers of posts.

3. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    My best tank 52 MPG, worst tank 39 MPG, I average 42 MPG in a Mississippi summer, 47 MPG when it is cooler. (Mississippi never gets cold) Every 5000 miles it costs me $43 USD for a oil change and tire rotation. First service that is a 'tune up' is at 100,000 miles, then they change the spark plugs. (There are threads where owners try to figure out when they 'should' do more maintenance than Toyota recommends)

As far as 'green' goes look at this thread
    http://priuschat.com/forums/gen-iii...sight-civic-hybrid-jetta-gas-tdi-wrx-sti.html
    Lets just say the Prius is the least horrible car on that list. ('Clean Diesel' seems to mean 'approaching as clean as an average car')