Prius Prime Package Details - Plus, Premium, & Advanced

Discussion in 'Prime Main Forum (2017-Current)' started by Danny, Sep 21, 2016.

  1. montyballs

    montyballs New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2016
    3
    1
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Ah, I see. Thanks for the info!
     
    bisco likes this.
  2. tomharry

    tomharry New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2016
    4
    1
    0
    Location:
    london city
    Vehicle:
    2011 Aqua
    Model:
    II
    really dude.
     
  3. cproaudio

    cproaudio Speedlock Overrider

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    2,397
    736
    0
    Location:
    CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    So no factory optional packages like Hondas?
     
  4. Trollbait

    Trollbait It's a D&D thing

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    14,941
    6,730
    0
    Location:
    eastern Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Since AC charging is accomplished by the onboard charger, it seems silly to need a separate EVSE to accomplish the faster level 2 charging. Why not have the EVSE just installed on the car? Is that what Tesla did?

    For the above conversion, are the cables upgraded, or is it limited to 240v/15amp?
     
  5. Mister MMT

    Mister MMT Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    285
    137
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Here in Europe where we are at 220 V AC, charging the Prime using the standard cord from a household socket on a 16A security, the charging intensity will be limited to 10 A and a full charge will take 3h45'. Using a Wallbox, charging will use a thicker cord allowing for 16A, and the time will be 2h20'. All using the 3.3 kW on-board charger.

    Jan
     
    kevins007 likes this.
  6. Trollbait

    Trollbait It's a D&D thing

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    14,941
    6,730
    0
    Location:
    eastern Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    I'm asking why even have the wall box to do charging at 16 amps when there is no technical reason I am aware of for it to be onboard with the charger.

    The portable charge cord that comes with a Tesla actually requires an adapter to be attach in order to be plugged in. In North America, it comes with the adapter for use in our basic home outlet and one for plugging into the 50 amp outlet used by RVs, and is the default plug for plug in EVSEs. From Tesla's site, a person can buy an adapter for plugging into the clothes dryer outlet and a couple of other plug types. While Tesla sells wall box EVSEs there, these aren't technically different from the portable one.
     
  7. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    87,579
    38,992
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    no, they don't change the cable, but charging time is the same as L2, 90 minutes.
     
  8. Trollbait

    Trollbait It's a D&D thing

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    14,941
    6,730
    0
    Location:
    eastern Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    can it draw over 15 amps then?
     
  9. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    87,579
    38,992
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    maybe, i don't know the details, but a bunch of pip owners have done it, and swear by them. he does leaf evse too. his screen name was peer, but i don't remember the company. after he built a plug in prius, and had no trouble, compared to everyone else, he went leaf when the came out. i'm sure his threads are still here.

    edit: his company is evseupgrade.com it says max 12 amps, more than double the charging speed.
     
    Trollbait likes this.
  10. joleta

    joleta Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    27
    1
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    Are these fancy headlights going to be dealer-replaceable only? I couldn't believe how much it cost to have a headlight replaced on my 2004 Prius, and these look like they would cost even more.
     
    bisco likes this.
  11. Prius Maximus

    Prius Maximus Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    871
    699
    1
    Location:
    Northeastern IL
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    I changed my 04's myself. easy. Bulbs were a bit expensive though. These new ones are LEDs, they shouldnt ever need to be changed.
     
  12. Tideland Prius

    Tideland Prius Moderator of the North
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    40,735
    12,301
    41
    Location:
    Canada
    Vehicle:
    2018 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Technology
    Most likely, yes. But LEDs should last a very long time.
     
  13. giora

    giora Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    1,966
    718
    0
    Location:
    Herzliya, Israel. Car: Euro version GLI
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    N/A
    The reason is security.
    On top of the power lines between the EVSE and the car's charger there is also a communication (low voltage) line. Charging will start only after all parameters set forth by SAE J1772 protocol are met.
    Among other parameters EVSE tells the car charger the voltage that will be used and its current rating of the line used. Car computer then will force charging current which will be the lower of the two: charger rating or EVSE rating.
    (Hope I understood your question correctly).
     
  14. Trollbait

    Trollbait It's a D&D thing

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    14,941
    6,730
    0
    Location:
    eastern Pennsylvania
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    I think I just arrived at the answer.
    I know about the communication going on. Is the EVSE hard coded to the volt and amp limit it was designed for? Take the portable EVSE cord that comes with the car. It is designed for 12 or maybe 15 amps max. If plugged into a 40 amp outlet with an adapter, can it 'see' that another 25 amps is available, or is it blind to it? An onboard EVSE would have to be able to see up to what the onboard charger can handle, which probably means higher cost than the typical portable one that comes with the car.

    Then it likely couldn't tell if the charge cord was an improperly made one with too low of a wire gauge, which could lead to damage and fire.
     
  15. giora

    giora Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    1,966
    718
    0
    Location:
    Herzliya, Israel. Car: Euro version GLI
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    N/A
    My portable EVSE (not toyota atock) is:
    Automatically detect and switch to the line voltage (115 or 230).
    Is programable to 6-25 amps in 1 amp steps.
    Right now it is programed to 15 amps but the car charger is limiting to 10 amps charge (charger rating)
    When I am charging from an unknown suspective socket I am changing the EVSE to 8 amps and even less.
     
  16. Mister MMT

    Mister MMT Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    285
    137
    0
    Location:
    Germany
    Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Is there an optional trailer coupling?

    Jan
     
Loading...