Prius screen flashing Lexus logo. Screen does not work.

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by Tommy5546, Aug 1, 2019.

  1. Tommy5546

    Tommy5546 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    15
    5
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Today, something very interesting and unusual starting happening on my Prius. When I turned on the car, the screen turned on with the Lexus logo. After it appears, it quickly turns off, then appears again, then off again, and so on. When restarting the car, the issue continues. Because of this issue, I cannot control the A/C and the radio does not work. I should note that the car itself works completely fine. Here is a picture of what it looks like. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

    (Sometimes, it will very rarely boot into the normal screen with the hybrid system showing, but it looks all distorted, doesn't work correctly, and switches back to the Lexus logo after a few seconds. When the normal screen does show, I can press buttons on the screen, so I know the screen itself is fine.)
    Screen Shot 2019-07-31 at 10.24.22 PM.png
     
  2. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    94,734
    42,963
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    welcome!

    can you post a video?
     
  3. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    11,181
    15,304
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Have you always owned your Prius?

    Someone try to update the nav system and put a Lexus disk in?
     
    #3 Raytheeagle, Aug 3, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2019
    jerrymildred likes this.
  4. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    10,057
    12,328
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Welcome, Tommy. That just may be the strangest malfunction I've seen yet here. I was clueless till @Raytheeagle mentioned the possibility that someone tried to update it with a Lexus disk. Then again I don't know if an '05 trim II would have navigation. Then again, not having it might not stop the person who would try using a disk for a different car.
     
    Raytheeagle likes this.
  5. Tommy5546

    Tommy5546 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    15
    5
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Sure, here it is!
     
    bisco likes this.
  6. Tommy5546

    Tommy5546 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    15
    5
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    I
    I have not always owned this Prius. I got it used. However, I have never had this issue with it until now.
     
  7. Tommy5546

    Tommy5546 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    15
    5
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    I
    I have never got the screen upgraded while I have owned it. The screen worked fine up until now. Maybe a previous owner did something with it? I'm not too educated on Prius's, so I have no clue if this is the original screen or not.
     
  8. Tommy5546

    Tommy5546 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    15
    5
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Here is also an image of what the distortion looks like that I mentioned above. When I drive, nothing on it moves and it just resets after about a minute of not touching it
    IMG_1352.JPG
     
  9. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    94,734
    42,963
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    does it have gps?
     
  10. Luc_S

    Luc_S Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2019
    13
    9
    0
    Location:
    Poland
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    ----USA----
    From an elecronics engineer point of view It looks like toyota designed the MFD (or some other electronics, or even only the firmware) to be used both in prius and lexus,which saves costs. The actual configuration may be stored in the non-volatile memory (flash, eeprom etc). If contents of this memory is corrupted (basically each bit is stored as an electric charge in a condenser, and electrons may slowly leak out) , the firmware reads wrong or unstable values of configuration bits and goes nuts. Unfortunately I can't tell which module actually failed, but the overall situation seems pretty obvious for me.
     
  11. Tommy5546

    Tommy5546 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    15
    5
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    I
    It does not.
     
  12. Tommy5546

    Tommy5546 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    15
    5
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    I
    I figured that this display may be used in Lexus vehicles because of the way it is acting. Thanks for this information!
     
  13. Tommy5546

    Tommy5546 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    15
    5
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    I
    I am also curious about this. If I get the display replaced, would I be able to insert a newer display, say from a 2009 Prius (not with navigation)? I am curious because I know the Prius from around 2006-2009 had a display with better-looking touch buttons and just a much nicer appearance in the software overall. Since my current screen does not have navigation, I would not try to put that in. Thanks! (This is a picture from the internet, and the software just looks much more modern then what my current screen looks like in my opinion).
    [​IMG]
     
  14. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    94,734
    42,963
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    have you tried pulling the fuse for a reset?

    and it is worth checking the 12v health as well
     
  15. Tommy5546

    Tommy5546 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    15
    5
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    I
    I have done both of these and nothing worked. Fuse is good and 12v is nearly brand new
     
    bisco likes this.
  16. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    94,734
    42,963
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    might just be a bad mfd then
     
  17. Tommy5546

    Tommy5546 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    15
    5
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    I
    Ya that’s what I’m thinking it is. Do you think I could insert a newer mfd in this Prius? (See am earlier comment above this). Thanks for the information!
     
    jerrymildred likes this.
  18. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    94,734
    42,963
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    i think so, but i'm not absolutely positive
     
  19. Tommy5546

    Tommy5546 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2019
    15
    5
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    I
    I’ll check into it. Thanks!
     
    bisco likes this.
  20. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    4,432
    4,713
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Unfortunately, the Lexus logo is not that uncommon. It's one of the early signs of MFD failure. When you have time, you should go ahead and get the model number from the back of the MFD and start watching for a good deal to purchase a replacement.

    Along with that, this MFD is the 4 button model. No navigation. All Gen 2 navigation MFDs are 7 button.
     
    #20 TMR-JWAP, Aug 5, 2019
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2019
    jerrymildred likes this.
Loading...