Prius Shifting issue

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Suman, Mar 26, 2019.

  1. Suman

    Suman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2018
    19
    1
    0
    Location:
    36830
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    I am having a shifting issue with my 2007 prius. After I reset my car by disconnecting the small battery, the car works perfectly. However after sometimes the red triangle is coming back on the dash board and a "problem sign" comes on the display window. At this time if I park the vehicle, it's not shifting to drive or reverse now. Only going to neutral. If I do the resetting process again, the the car works again perfectly..I checked my big battery, all the blocks showed more than 7.8V. And changed the small battery too. Changed the transmission oil too. Still the same..
     
  2. kenoarto

    kenoarto Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    1,403
    387
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Get the fault codes read immediately.


    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
    SFO likes this.
  3. Suman

    Suman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2018
    19
    1
    0
    Location:
    36830
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    No fault code are coming
     
  4. kenoarto

    kenoarto Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    1,403
    387
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Are you using Techstream?

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  5. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    4,346
    4,663
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Most likely you have a HV insulation resistance fault. Typically caused by electrolyte leakage from a module in the HV battery, but can be many other causes (cable insulation, inverter, transaxle). An electrolyte leak will have very little, if any, impact on the module voltage. It can usually be identified by discoloration on the metal plate the modules are mounted to.
     
  6. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    4,346
    4,663
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    If you have a red triangle locking in, then there's a code in there waiting to be read. It may just be your reader is not hybrid capable.
     
    SFO, Raytheeagle and kenoarto like this.
  7. Suman

    Suman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2018
    19
    1
    0
    Location:
    36830
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    I am using a kitbest obd2 reader with torque pro app.
     
  8. Suman

    Suman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2018
    19
    1
    0
    Location:
    36830
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Yeah suspect the high voltage leak too.. But how to check that I don't know..
     
  9. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    4,346
    4,663
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    So torque is not showing any Diagnostic Code?
    Unfortunately, I'm not familiar with torque, as I use techstream for all things prius, but I've heard a lot of good things about it.
     
  10. Suman

    Suman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2018
    19
    1
    0
    Location:
    36830
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Nope...I have run so many times..it says no fault codes are stored in the ECU..
     
  11. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    4,346
    4,663
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    You may need to drive to a parts store like AutoZone or similar to see if they're able to use one of their readers to see if they can pick it up. There should be a DTC and subcodes in the freeze frame data.

    The only time that the Red Triangle lights and provides no code (as far as I'm aware) is when oil pressure is low.

    Makes me wonder if it would be worth the forum making a member location list showing who has Techstream, where they are (generally) and how far they'd be willing to go to provide assistance.....
     
    SFO and Raytheeagle like this.
  12. Suman

    Suman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2018
    19
    1
    0
    Location:
    36830
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Thanks.. I live in Auburn,Alabama..If anyone is near by that would be great..
     
  13. Raytheeagle

    Raytheeagle Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    11,137
    15,246
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Vehicle:
    2019 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Looks like he’s in Auburn, AL if the location and zip code align;).

    Not sure who’s in the general vicinity either:cool:.

    I agree that There is a code there though(y).
     
  14. Suman

    Suman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2018
    19
    1
    0
    Location:
    36830
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
    My zip code is 36830
     
  15. TMR-JWAP

    TMR-JWAP Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    4,346
    4,663
    0
    Location:
    Columbia, SC
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    5 hour drive is a bit much for me tonight.......I hope you get lucky and someone nearby chimes in...
     
    SFO, Suman and Raytheeagle like this.
  16. kens97uber171

    kens97uber171 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2018
    177
    132
    0
    Location:
    US
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    If torque cannot read the codes any code reader you're going to find at a regular auto parts place is probably not going to see anything either. You might try dr. Prius app or hybrid assistant app. I believe they can see and clear Hybrid battery codes as well as others. Both are free on the app store

    Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.
     
  17. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    94,204
    42,708
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    is there movement in the inverter fluid?
     
  18. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    5,705
    3,057
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Not wanting to reach Grandma to suck eggs, but you loaded the Prius specific extended PIDs in Torque Pro, didn't you?

    Also, don't disconnect the 12 V battery before reading the DTCs. You will not see any DTCs after you have disconnected the battery, hence why the light(s) go off after doing so.
     
    Skibob likes this.
Loading...