Prius v Display Audio Service Menu w Battery Check

Discussion in 'Prius v Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by rjparker, Feb 3, 2015.

  1. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    4,221
    2,258
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Found this in the c forum and verified it worked on my 2012 Prius v 3 with Display Audio:

    Realtime 12v Battery Voltage in Off or Running State

    You can easily check out your battery status/charging system by using the MFD Service Menu.

    1 Get your Prius into "Accessory Mode" .
    -- Press the power button without touching the brake pedal.
    2 Put the MFD into "Service Menu" mode (green)
    -- Press and hold the "CAR" button on the MFD while turning the headlights on and off 4 times.
    3 Press the "Function Check / Setting" field on the screen.
    -- "Function Check / Setting menu will appear.
    4 Press the "Vehicle Signal" field.
    -- "Vehicle Signal Check Mode" screen will appear, showing

    Battery 12.2v ---------SPEED 0 Km/h
    IG OFF ---------------TAIL OFF
    PKB ON --------------ADIM/TCAN BRIGHT
    REV OFF

    The 12v battery voltage will be listed and changes as load changes.

    5 My 2012 v read 12.3 initially. When I turned on the lights it went to 12.4v.
    6 Now get your Prius into "Ready Mode" - step on the brake and press the power button.
    -- The battery voltage should immediately rise to at least 13.8 volts. Mine went to 14.8.
    7 Shutting the car down will reset the system back to normal operation.


    To put the MFD into "Diagnosis Check" mode

    A Get your Prius into "Accessory Mode" .
    -- Press the power button without touching the brake pedal.
    B Put the MFD into "Diagnosis Check" mode (red)
    -- Press and hold the "SETUP" button on the MFD while turning the headlights on and off 4 times.
    C The red "Diagnosis Check USA" screen will appear.
     
    #1 rjparker, Feb 3, 2015
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2015
    Air_Boss and J L like this.
  2. J L

    J L Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2014
    30
    0
    0
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Thanks for that.

    It would be neat if something like this could display coolant temperature and oil pressure while driving so that one doesn't need to get an OBD-II scan tool or what not.
     
  3. JimboPalmer

    JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    12,353
    6,733
    2
    Location:
    Greenwood MS USA
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    The Prius "Oil Pressure" switch is just a switch, it will not show any pressure readings even with a ScanGaugeII, unlike coolant temperature, which will show readings, as it is a gauge.
     
  4. Air_Boss

    Air_Boss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    3,445
    885
    0
    Location:
    New Yawk
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Curious.... What does the Diagnosis Check get you?
     
  5. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    4,221
    2,258
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Don't recall. Never used it but it's easy enough to get there.
     
  6. Air_Boss

    Air_Boss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    3,445
    885
    0
    Location:
    New Yawk
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    And what could possibly go wrong, right? LOL
     
  7. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    4,221
    2,258
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Here are the first and "next" pages in the Diagnosis Check (not Service Menu with battery check) mode. I did not try "init" or "mem clear". The dark black buttons function.
    image.jpeg image.jpeg
     
  8. Air_Boss

    Air_Boss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    3,445
    885
    0
    Location:
    New Yawk
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Who's feeling lucky?
     
  9. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    4,221
    2,258
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    A quick update on the procedure above:

    It is not necessary to be in the Accessory Mode for this to work.

    You can also do this in the On mode (allows Windows and Fan loads) or the Ready Mode (eg running) by simply pressing and holding "Car" while cycling the headlights 4 times.

    Then "Function Check" and "Vehicle Signal Check"
     
  10. Air_Boss

    Air_Boss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012
    3,445
    885
    0
    Location:
    New Yawk
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    What toggles the Service Menu 'OFF', the <BACK> selection?
     
  11. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    4,221
    2,258
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    The only way I can get it off is to power down the car. However, all the head unit functions that operate from the steering wheel still work.
     
    Air_Boss likes this.
  12. EZW1

    EZW1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    721
    79
    7
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Four Touring
    Excellent! post.
     
    Air_Boss likes this.
  13. Steve48

    Steve48 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2020
    42
    7
    0
    Location:
    Clermont, FL
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    III
    I've read through some of the forum on tricks to cause the car to start the ICE and remain idling, and also tricks involving wiring mods to turn the backup cameras on and off. Is there anything in the utilities here to accomplish either of those things?

    I'm a little nervous about exploring the utilities on my own too much! :oops:
     
  14. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    4,221
    2,258
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    What method did you find to keep the engine on? I know you can force charge it by holding the brake while in drive and giving it some gas. Slightly dangerous if you were to release the brake.
     
  15. Steve48

    Steve48 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2020
    42
    7
    0
    Location:
    Clermont, FL
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    III
    Someone wrote that if you put the AC full on to maximum cool, then once the ICE started it would continue to run. I haven't tried it.

    A diagnostic utility to do that would make a lot of sense to me.
     
  16. AzusaPrius

    AzusaPrius Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    938
    441
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    You could do the same with it in park.
    Heck even safer with the parking brake on.
     
  17. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    4,221
    2,258
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    Actually the engine won’t idle, run continuously or force charge in park. You can give it gas in Park and it will run without charging. Using max ac won’t force the engine on either as the entire ac system including fans is electric.

    You can force charge with the brake depressed in drive by pressing the gas. It will charge the hv battery quickly and is the method used by the Dr Prius app to estimate the hv battery life.
     
  18. Steve48

    Steve48 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2020
    42
    7
    0
    Location:
    Clermont, FL
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    III
    Of course, but we know that if you sit with the car in park and the AC on in Ready mode, then the AC will pull the HV battery down until the engine starts. Normally, the charge on the HV will come up a bit and then the engine will shut down, but if you set the AC to max, with the blower on max, then perhaps the engine will supply just enough power to balance the drain and never shut down.

    I still haven't tried this, but it doesn't sound unreasonable.
     
    AzusaPrius likes this.
  19. rjparker

    rjparker Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    4,221
    2,258
    2
    Location:
    Texas Hill Country
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    I did try it. It did not work. The AC compressor is a highly efficient three phase inverter driven scroll unit that does draw a fraction of a kilowatt but nothing like the kilowatts the motor/generators can put out even at idle.

    What I don’t like with the Prius’ idle recharge algorithm is that it just barely adds enough charge to run the electrics for a few more minutes. At that point the engine has to start again. This causes excessive start charge cycles in my opinion and leaves the battery at the low end of its charge when the vehicle is subsequently driven. Normally the charging algorithm keeps the hv battery well over half, usually over 75% charged. Its not like these models have predictive terrain algorithms like new hybrids have to maximize regen. I believe this behaviour was introduced when Toyota updated the inverter firmware in an attempt to reduce failed inverter modules in these models.
     
    Steve48 likes this.
  20. Steve48

    Steve48 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2020
    42
    7
    0
    Location:
    Clermont, FL
    Vehicle:
    2014 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    III
    Ah. Thanks. I suppose the person who wrote it in the thread I saw must not have tested it very well.

    Agreed. I've experienced this many times while waiting in the parking lot. My Prius does, however, come up rapidly once I start driving again.

    You mean the behavior of adding just enough charge for a few more minutes? Earlier Prius models didn't behave that way?
     
Loading...