Prius v (lowercase v) Touch Screen

Discussion in 'Prius v Audio and Electronics' started by Harveyl, Jan 16, 2015.

  1. Blaise-J

    Blaise-J New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    Longmont, CO
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five

    I bought my prius v about a week ago and have the same problem.
     
  2. c w a

    c w a New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    Loveland, CO, USA
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    I've had mine for four days and have the same issue. I'm calling the dealer today.
     
  3. Hybrid-Luso

    Hybrid-Luso New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    Keswick, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    N/A
    I purchased my Prius v in SW Florida and the screen freezing problem started a few days after I left the Dealer. The problem occurs mostly after the car is parked in a hot parking lot and while driving on a hot day. My main residence is in Virginia and the problem has occurred here often during the summer months. To me, it is pretty obvious that Toyota electronics testing is poor; I had a similar problem with my 2009 Camry Hybrid that never was fixed by Toyota because they refused to take ownership of the issue. The same thing appears to be happening now, after I contacted Toyota about the Prius v. They claim that there is no problem known to them, that they have no reports about it . . . and to take it to the Dealer. Note that the Dealer wants to see the problem so that they can get the "error code". This means that the customer has to take the car to the Dealer with the screen frozen and without turning off the power, convince the Dealer to take in the car without an appointment . . . I am very disappointed that Toyota forces the customer to live with a problem like this. Why don't they replace the system and then test the bad unit???? If they really were customer-centric, they would do that . . .
     
  4. rdgrimes

    rdgrimes Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    1,649
    389
    4
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    If you've been paying attention to this thread you should be aware that the issue is "owned" by Panasonic who makes the unit, but its a known issue to Toyota and the fix is replacement with an updated head unit. Your dealer should be able to sort it out for you. Its not a unique problem to the Prius-v, other models have the same head unit. Replacement head units have been scarce, but the supply chain should be catching up now. In any case you won't get much done without going to the dealer.
     
  5. Kermit262

    Kermit262 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    112
    45
    0
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    III
    Well it's been a few weeks since my head unit was replaced and I haven't experienced the problem again, so I'm once again a happy Prius v owner. Also, just used the built in navigation to take us from Ohio to Disney World and back and it performed admirably, despite the 90's graphics. ;)
     
    ricomtl likes this.
  6. Frank Kwong

    Frank Kwong Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    14
    2
    0
    Location:
    Cocoa Beach, FL.
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    I had the 'radio' replaced for 2 months now. The problem is back when the temperature is 91F outside parking in the shopping mall lot. Looks like the lockup is the Navigation when I looked for point of interest destination. The other Audio setup requires only a few buttons and no problem. The car runs good but this radio business is a lemon for sure. Dealer cannot get replacement parts and they play dumb and push you off their back. Don't forget to hold down the power knob 3-4 secs to reboot the radio. No need to pull to the side of the road to restart engine.
     
    Chazz8 likes this.
  7. mayer

    mayer Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    san diego
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    I will add my car to the list with similar problems. 7,000 miles and it is great except for the freezing issue.
     
  8. DidIJustBuyAPrius?!?

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    10
    1
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Four
    I know i'm late to this thread but I had the same issue as well. It seemed to happen when it was really hot outside. I just took video of it being non-responsive & moving on its own and showed it to the dealer here in CA. They offered to replace it within a month. I now have the new headunit and it works perfectly. BTW my headunit was from Feb 2015.
     
  9. lcslouis

    lcslouis Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    2
    0
    0
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I've had mine replaced a little over month now. It has only froze twice and that was when I was on a 400mi trip with gps navigation active. Other than that it's been rock solid. The outside temp was around 75 + or - 5
     
  10. mistertudball

    mistertudball New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    26
    2
    0
    Location:
    Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    Well … call ME impressed! My wife has had her Prius v for about eight months and I've noticed the screen freezing twice. Last week I took the car in for its 6-month free service, asked them to turn off the back-up beeper and told them that … because of what I've read on this forum … I wanted our car's record to include a note that the screen froze twice. If it's heat related, going into winter wouldn't cause another freeze so I just wanted it on record. Germain Toyota ordered the new unit, called me in two days when it came in, and they installed it this morning.
     
  11. BOODA62

    BOODA62 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    7
    0
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    I have the same problem which first surfaced when the Prius was only a week or so old. The touch screen
    and everything associated with it freezes up completely. Can not change radio stations, type of audio, map
    display or GPS, etc. Turning car off and then back on usually resets it, but did not in a couple of occasions.
    There is apparently replacement units since this seems to be a common problem with the Prius v (again, it is lowercase v for the Prius v wagon), but not
    other models of Toyota. I am going in next week for first service, and have already talked to service advisors
    and service manager about problem. Funny thing is that while it generally froze when outside temperatures
    were in the 80s and higher, last couple of times screen froze up was only in 40s and lower 50s. So does not
    appear to be a thermal protection system like my laptop computers have where they shut down when internal
    temperature gets too high.

    I have another problem which may be related or not. Can not access all songs, artists, or albums on the 32gb
    Flash Drives I have created from the 30+ CDs we have. Some play just fine and show the album cover, song title
    and artist like it should, but other songs I get nothing. Tried using a small Flash Drive of 8gb with only 4 albums
    on it. Same results even though less than 1gb of data on that Flash Drive.

    Oh well, if none of these problems can be solved, lease ends in 2.5 years, and will try another vehicle.
    This does drive nicely and I like it better than our 2010 Camry Hybrid in some respects, although like
    the Camry better in other respects.

    Sounds like the dealer is "blowing you off". I do not have an Iphone or Smartphone of any type, but my display screen has frozen a number of times. First time was less than a week we got the vehicle. Radio station went off the air, and when we tried to change channels, that is when we found the system was frozen. Were going past a dealer enroute to our destination, so stopped to have them look at problem.
    Of course since I turned the vehicle off before exiting it, the system rebooted itself so no problem when service advisor turned car back on.
    That seems like the "quick fix" for our car, but did not work a couple of times. Most of the time temperature outside was in the 80s and above, yet did not have the problem in Las Vegas or southern California where we encountered temperatures up to 100 degrees and the car sat in the sun for 2-3 hours. On return trip from California, system froze up about 40 miles out of Gallup, NM when outside temperature were in the 40s. Last freeze occurred earlier this week and temperature was only in the 50s, so problem does not seem to be temperature related after all.

    Going in for first 5000 mile service next week. Shall see what dealer does. I have already informed them of this issue along with issue regarding USB port only playing some albums and songs from Flash Drive and not others even though all are same .wma format and have used about 19gb of a 32gb flash drive.

    Another issue is that I frequently can not engage EV mode when I am driving through my neighborhood or in stop and go traffic.
    Usually get message that I have excessive speed even when travelling at or below 10mph. This occurs even when battery is
    70-80 percent full or more. Other times it works flawlessly until battery is too low. Wonder if this issue is connected with freezing
    Navigation display, etc.
     
  12. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    39,180
    27,877
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    EV mode is finicky, I think that's just the way it is. There's so many parameters that'll lock it out. I'm only using EV mode for backing the car outa the garage when it's cold, avoiding an engine startup. It's pretty hit-or-miss for that. When that fails, I just take advantage of the 10~15 seconds of EV available whenever the car starts up. Do my maneuvers in short steps.
     
  13. javachick78

    javachick78 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2014
    13
    2
    0
    Location:
    Concord, Ca
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    This reply may be a little bit late. Hopefully you've gotten your touchscreen issue resolved by now? I found out that it's not the head unit that is causing the problem with the screen freezing. It's the extension box. Once the dealership replaced that, I've had no freezing issues since. Then again, I have a 2013 Prius v Three (lowercase v for the Prius v wagon and Three not III). Some people say that the units are entirely different on the 2015s, the dealership told me they were the same.
     
    #213 javachick78, Nov 19, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2015
  14. Hybrid-Luso

    Hybrid-Luso New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    2
    0
    0
    Location:
    Keswick, Virginia
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    N/A
    I was recently at the Dealer about the frozen screen issue. They had ordered a new radio to install. However, when it came time to install it, they did not because Toyota directed them to update the software instead. I hope this will work. It's cold now and so the theory that the problem was caused by heat cannot be proved until the summer temperatures return. I sincerely hope that the darn thing was fixed with the software update . . .
     
  15. rdgrimes

    rdgrimes Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2013
    1,649
    389
    4
    Location:
    New Mexico, USA
    Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    That's old information.
    Not likely.
     
  16. flynz4

    flynz4 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    329
    13
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    I haven't been in PriusChat for a while, so I am not up to date on this issue. I was one of the first people here to report this problem.

    I am going to my dealer again tomorrow for normal 10,000 mile maintenance. My radio problem is already documented, but I am having them hold off on the repair until we know for sure that new units do not have this problem.

    Are there any bonafide cases where we know a radio replacement has really fixed the problem?

    /Jim
     
  17. FBear

    FBear Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    352
    21
    0
    Location:
    Maplewood, NJ
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Four
    Just picked my 2015 Prius v Four used with 13459 miles. This past weekend I experienced the dread screen freeze. Although mine has an interesting wrinkle. It is fine so far except when the windshield wipers are on either full on or in intermittent mode. It then freezes, until I push and hold the on/off button for the 3 seconds. I am going to report this Toyota tomorrow.
     
  18. lrisius

    lrisius Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2015
    89
    28
    0
    Location:
    Illinois
    Vehicle:
    2015 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    I've noticed something on my 2015 Prius v Three. The navigation had started not responding to touch and there were options not available when searching for a destination, like the internet search was disabled and some of the find by categories were also disabled.. Eventually it would recover enough for me to get back to apps and I tried going to Pandora. I then got a message that basically said "you need an app running on your phone to use this.app" I checked my phone and my Entune app was not automatically logging in so I logged in and after a little time to sync up, everything started working. I assume I got an update to Entune that wiped out my old login data and that then I was trying to use the limited HD data that Toyota supplies. It's been running without issues for a few days since. Anyone experience anything like this?
     
  19. Steve Lee

    Steve Lee Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    135
    87
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Yes, I have experience on 2015 Prius v several times, I do not the correct fix nor Toyota dealer nor Toyota HQ can provide any assistance. My experience when turning off and on the car it reset itself. Odd about my experience able listen and adjust volume on the radio but not able to control the screen nor gps updating. I suggest you log your issue to Toyota and have record, then go to Toyota Dealer and install ne w one?
     
    #219 Steve Lee, Apr 8, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2016
  20. vdriver

    vdriver New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    17
    4
    0
    Location:
    san francisco
    Vehicle:
    2016 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Five
    I had the screen frozen on my v a couple of weeks after I bought the car. It was not easy, but after three attempts to ask the dealer to resolve this issue, they eventually ordered a new unit for me and replaced the original one. This was back in October, 2015. The freezing problem has not appeared again with this new unit and all the functions related to the screen operate flawlessly. I can say with confidence the problem is with the original units installed. Get it replaced and the problem will go away.
     
Loading...