Prius won't start - (Not a bad battery)

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by SilverHCIC, Aug 25, 2015.

  1. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    13,694
    6,294
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    This am2 fuse cuts off all power to the dash and mfd screen?

    Has the OP fine the pump recall?
     
  2. SilverHCIC

    SilverHCIC Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    24
    5
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    You guys are all fantastic. Thanks for the great info. It's too dark to check the coolant reservoir right now, but I will definitely check tomorrow. Thanks for the picture!!

    JC -- was there a recall on the inverter pump?
     
  3. IMkenNY

    IMkenNY Im just being nosy

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    460
    269
    6
    Location:
    Tropical Buffalo NY
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four Touring
  4. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    13,694
    6,294
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    yes, to prevent the problem you just experienced
     
  5. edthefox5

    edthefox5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    7,270
    3,042
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Been so long since I have seen that scenario where the pump blows the fuse I forgot about it. Kinda went away with the pump recall.

    When was the last time the car went to the dealer? It may be seriously behind on its recalls.

    There's a bunch the pump and the steering shaft and the pedal trim and may be more. The steering shaft and pump are important.

    How many miles on the car?
     
  6. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sidewalk Supervisor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    34,098
    23,064
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Are there some spare fuses, or it's a generic style, you picked one up?
     
  7. SilverHCIC

    SilverHCIC Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    24
    5
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    It's a standard 15A low-profile blade-type fuse. There is a spare 15A and a spare 30A fuse that is located in a convenient place (empty slot) right there in the fuse box. I just swapped the bad 15A fuse with the spare, and while I was still standing in front of the car with the hood up, things started to click and whir and start up immediately !!! It was wonderful !!! Now, I'll be sure to put a new "spare" 15 A fuse in the empty slot, so it will be there if I ever blow another 15A fuse.

    As far as being behind in recalls, I will definitely check the VIN and the Toyota website to be sure.
     
    Mendel Leisk likes this.
  8. edthefox5

    edthefox5 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    7,270
    3,042
    0
    Location:
    Clearwater, Florida
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    AM2 15A fuse protects:

    Engine Control
    Ignition
    Push Button Start System and Immobiliser Ssytem
    Shift Control
    Taillight & Illumination
    Toyota Hybrid System

    Combo Meter is protected by Dome 15A so combo was not affected but the car wouldnt boot so I guess you would never see any lights on the combo.
     
  9. SilverHCIC

    SilverHCIC Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    24
    5
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2001 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    OK, here's an update.
    After replacing the 15 amp fuse for AM2 and unplugging the wiring to the inverter coolant pump (so the AM2 fuse would not immediately blow again due to the internal short inside the pump), I was able to drive the Prius directly to the dealer. I used surface streets and kept the speed down. I also left all 12-volt accessories turned off, to minimize the load on the inverter. Absolutely no problems getting to the dealer.

    The inverter coolant pump was replaced at zero cost to me, as it was still covered under the original recall. All codes were checked by the dealer and no other issues were identified.

    Car has been running perfectly since then. No more blowing the AM2 fuse, and the car starts up perfectly. My wife has been driving the car every day, and it works perfectly. Since the inverter coolant pump replacement was done at no cost, the total out-of-pocket cost to me was $ 20 to have the car towed after it initially stopped working, and another couple bucks for a package of 15 amp fuses.

    Thanks to all of you who helped me find the AM2 fuse culprit and identify the inverter coolant pump as the underlying problem. By disconnecting it and driving on surface streets to the dealer, I was able to avoid further towing charges and expensive trial-and-error electrical diagnostics.

    You guys here at PriusChat all rock !!!
     
    Telea, SFO and Mendel Leisk like this.
  10. Mendel Leisk

    Mendel Leisk Sidewalk Supervisor

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    34,098
    23,064
    80
    Location:
    Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    Go after Toyota for the $20 tow! :ROFLMAO:
     
  11. Vince9022

    Vince9022 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2015
    11
    1
    0
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Thanks for all the info, I had the same blown AM2 fuse, now it starts! Going to change inverter pump too
     
  12. David Stover

    David Stover New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2019
    5
    0
    0
    Location:
    Kissimmee, FL
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Same problem. Blew 2 AM2 fuses within a few seconds of putting them in. I saw several posts saying to disconnect the inverter water pump, put in new fuse and see if it blows. It did not blow. That indicates pump is bad. Lights stayed on but car would not go to ready mode. Had red triangle and check engine lights on. After a few minutes, tried to start even though not ready and everything went out on dash again. AM2 did not blow however. Even put another new one in to verify. Can't get any dash lights back on again.
     
  13. Josh Lamoreaux

    Josh Lamoreaux New Member

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    1
    0
    0
    Location:
    Tucson
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Hey all, just wanted to say this exact thing happened to my wife's 2008 Prius yesterday, we are the second owners and have only had it a month. So this thread was very helpful to me! Got the car running again by replacing the fuse, drove to the dealer where they confirmed the intermittent short in the inverter coolant pump. $500 it's going to cost me unfortunately, because it was already replaced 6 years ago for the recall, and yet it just happened. Very frustrating, hope it doesn't happen again... :(
     
  14. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    13,694
    6,294
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    You need to change out the failed inverter pump and all will go back to normal
     
  15. Skibob

    Skibob Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    2,314
    1,135
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I guess you can’t do it yourself?
     
Loading...