PriusChat Forum Upgrade - post your bug reports/gripes/thanks here

Discussion in 'PriusChat Website Questions' started by Danny, Dec 2, 2007.

  1. Neicy

    Neicy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    825
    5
    0
    Location:
    Wakefield, MA.
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    New posts is on the top blue row for me and works. What I need is a PM link to one of the mods. Guess it's better that the site is up and work out the kinks after Danny has had some sleep and food.

    Never mind - found it.
     
  2. guberif

    guberif Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    34
    0
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Where did main page go?

    Maybe I'm missing something, but I usually go directly to www.priuschat.com and check out the news articles, 10 most recent topics, etc. When I type in that site now, I go straight to forums. What's up?
     
  3. Danny

    Danny Admin/Founder
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    6,961
    1,832
    1,174
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    It looks like a lot of people had their "Log In" names imported instead of their "Display Names". The way to fix it is:

    Log-in using your log-in name and password, then once you're in go to your UserCP. At the bottom you'll see a link called "Username Request" - click there, submit your name change request, and myself or a moderator will review your request.

    http://priuschat.com/forums/profile.php?do=requestusername
     
  4. Danny

    Danny Admin/Founder
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    6,961
    1,832
    1,174
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    I haven't set that part of the site up, yet. It'll be back soon.
     
  5. Godiva

    Godiva AmeriKan Citizen

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    10,339
    12
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Safari friendly?

    I tried to make a new post in Fred's and my Safari browser completely locked up. I'm on Firefox right now.

    I usually use Safari.

    Is Priuschat no longer Safari friendly?
     
  6. Danny

    Danny Admin/Founder
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    6,961
    1,832
    1,174
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    There shouldn't be any reason for it to lock up in Safari. I have Safari on my Macbook, so I'll test it when I get into the office tomorrow morning.

    Godiva - you really took the "gripes" part of the thread to heart, didn't you? :D
     
  7. Godiva

    Godiva AmeriKan Citizen

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    10,339
    12
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    What about local groups?

    What about local groups? Do I have to rejoin the San Diego group? If so, where is it?
     
  8. galaxee

    galaxee mostly benevolent

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    9,810
    427
    0
    Location:
    MD
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    lol, well you did ask for it, Danny!
     
  9. Priapus

    Priapus Alter Ego

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    52
    4
    0
    Location:
    Far-North Chicagoland
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I'm good now after a password reset.
     
  10. daniel

    daniel Cat Lovers Against the Bomb

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    14,487
    1,512
    0
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    My avatar disappeared. I reloaded it. Now it works.

    One minor dislike: On the index page of each forum, the left-most column is an icon with a little arrow if I've posted in that thread. This little arrow is much harder to see than the analogous indicator the board used to use.

    My request: Make the indication stand out better. I often scan these so as to read first those threads I've posted in before, and respond to possible replies to my earlier posts.

    Overall I like the looks of the new board.

    I have not yet tried this on the new board, but this worked on the old one and may work here, too:

    I type the text first, then highlight it, and then hit the button to make it a link. I then paste the URL into the window, and it makes a link using the highlighted text.
     
  11. Sufferin' Prius Envy

    Sufferin' Prius Envy Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    3,998
    14
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Probably low on the fix-it-list . . .

    It looks like all the "POLLS" have been reset in regards to locking out those who had already voted.
    I was able to re-vote (neutrally) in a couple of the polls I started.
    When I click on the "Poll Results" numbers on the right side, it then shows me how I voted. Will this show how EVERYONE votes . . . once they do?
     
  12. Danny

    Danny Admin/Founder
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    6,961
    1,832
    1,174
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Godiva, I moved your post to this thread since I feels it fits better with this discussion. I'll be redoing the Local Groups soon and will notify everyone who was in the old groups regarding the new ones.
     
  13. Bill Merchant

    Bill Merchant absit invidia

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    4,096
    72
    13
    Location:
    USA | Oregon | Portland area | 97004 |
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    After the initial stumbles and almost using up my 5 logins, I'm pretty much back to normal (stop laughing!)

    A future request: Danny, can you minimize the space "Who's Online" takes? I like to see who's on, but scanning 11 pages is tedious. I liked the old display of just names, since clicking on a name can get you the other information like YIM name and where browsing.

    Thanks for your efforts!
     
  14. Danny

    Danny Admin/Founder
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    6,961
    1,832
    1,174
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Can you link to the thread you're referring to so I can check?
     
  15. Rae Vynn

    Rae Vynn Artist In Residence

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    6,038
    705
    0
    Location:
    Tumwater, WA USA
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    The quick reply box at the bottom of threads keeps telling me that I have not entered any characters, even though I've posted a couple of witty, pithy things.
    I'm using FireFox, most updated version, if that makes any difference (on Win XP)
     
  16. Neicy

    Neicy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    825
    5
    0
    Location:
    Wakefield, MA.
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Let's try this.

    edit - it worked.
     
  17. ajpalm

    ajpalm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    22
    0
    0
    Found a bug, the links in the shop to the attachments are all broken. You might want to fix that up.

    Also for the dice ipod, the link to installation doc put together by PriusSV, is broken.

    Thanks guys!!

    BTW its heaps faster!
     
  18. Bill Merchant

    Bill Merchant absit invidia

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    4,096
    72
    13
    Location:
    USA | Oregon | Portland area | 97004 |
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    No way to avoid FHOP?

    I used to go to the View New Posts button and select all the top level forums except the one that included FHOP. I really don't care to see ANY FHOP posts, but the new View New Posts is like the old View All New Posts. Please, Danny, you know a great number of people want to avoid FHOP. Making the politics a subforum of FHOP was a help, but I really don't care for the other tripe either.
     
  19. TheForce

    TheForce Ron Paul 2012

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    3,454
    459
    0
    Location:
    Wheelersburg, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I tried to submit a name cange so I can have upper case T and F and I get this error.

    Rule Violation: The username that you have submitted violates one of the Username Rules that the administrator has specified

    I'm a little picky too but I can live without the capital letters.

    Also I found that you can only have 2 pics in this sig. I wanted to add a few hundred pics to my sig. :( I guess I will remove 2. Now which ones will I remove? Hmmmmmm

    I'm still going through everything. I'll report back any errors.

    Dang how long of post do you have to make. I keep getting The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen your message to at least 1 characters.
     
  20. Sufferin' Prius Envy

    Sufferin' Prius Envy Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    3,998
    14
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Because I could!

    Being able to rate your own thread is kind of bogus.
     
Loading...