"Problem" "Red Triangle" "Vsc" "Braking System"

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by ErickRival, Jun 30, 2016.

  1. ErickRival

    ErickRival Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    28
    13
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles , California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Hate to introduce myself in need of urgent help, yet I'm fairly new to the forum; towards creating my own post of course. I spend quite a few reading through out the pages. Now I'm here needing help:(.

    I'll began with a few error codes I've encountered in the past. Early on this year my check engine light came on and received "P1116" & "P1121" I did a bit of research and came across it being a common problem. Being as most teens in their 20s, I decided to ignore the problem; since the engine light would go off and on as it pleased. I ended taking the car from LA to San Fransisco for a usual trip and had no problems aside from the back vent (assuming from the battery) came on. Although I stopped to check the car I didn't find it to be a issue so proceeded with my day.

    Now speeding up to about 2 weeks ago the car was having difficulties turning on, where I quickly assumed it was the 12 volt battery. I changed it that same weekend and began to work great again. Well, didn't get that same luck today on my way to take my son out. While on the freeway driving completely normal, around 15 minutes into my drive. I here a "beep" and in the screen it says "problem" and to be honest I read "Pull Over, before it's to late" :LOL:. It came on with what I recall seeing the same lights I'm getting now. Once I pulled over I shut the car off and wasn't able to start it up anymore. It just so happen that I got a bit of luck and instantly the freeway assistance tow truck was behind me where he managed to get me out the freeway. Once out the freeway I disconnected my battery to reset the computer. The car started up normal and proceeded to go back home (no lights on), a few miles before I get home all the lights came back on. I managed to drive slow and get the car inside my garage.

    Not knowing what the problem was, I headed over to the codes in which I received in the past and decided to personally change my coolant inverter. It had began to make a lot of noise and vibration so just assumed that was the problem. I tried turning on the car, yet it prevented me and the dashboard lights shown in the picture remained on. Now I disconnected the battery for about 2 hours to reset once again, along with our weather here in California to cool off. I turned the car on and began to drive around the neighborhood about 10 miles, seeing how well and normal it was I took it on the highway for a additional +4 miles. Once I got off the freeway I decided to call my girlfriend and express a bit of my excitement, got no answer. Instantly got all the lights on a mile down:mad:.. Indecisive if my gf is the problem or my beloved prius:LOL: seeing I can't get rid of her, I need to investigate the problem. Back to the car keep in mind the car remained to drive normal. In regards with acceleration, changing gears, battery charging properly, and just everything in general. At this point really not sure what it can be, my next move is to change "p1121" Coolant Control Valve. Any direction is greatly appreciated, thank you in advance.

    Key Points:
    Oil changed 1 week ago (level is good)
    Coolant Level (Good)
    Brake Fluid (good)
    Gas 1/4 tank
    Miles (I know, I know it's up there) : 290,000
    12 volt battery (new)
    I haven't messed with transmission, so don't know about it's fluid
    The car runs great considering it's mileage, believe me. brother has 3rd generation and father 4th gen.
    As of now car won't start, will checked when cooled off and will update.
    IMG_6467.JPG IMG_6469.JPG
     
  2. S Keith

    S Keith Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    799
    317
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    it's unclear what your CURRENT codes are. have you read them?
     
  3. ErickRival

    ErickRival Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    28
    13
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles , California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    No, I can get my hands on a obdII scanner but as of now the check engine light isn't on. Would it still be able to troubleshoot any codes?
     
  4. S Keith

    S Keith Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    799
    317
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    If you haven't reset the 12V, they will likely be stored as historical codes.

    Whatever the case, it sounds like you won't have to wait long until you get codes again. IMHO, park it until you can get codes read. Options in my signature. You reacting to old codes is pretty much a waste of time and money, and clearly the nature of the error has changed. The car will tell you what's wrong if you ask it nicely.

    Steve
     
  5. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    14,550
    7,321
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    After reading your long post, I understand from it....you changed the 12v battery and you changed your inverter coolant?

    Have you done the recall on the inverter pump?

    What area in Los Angeles are you in? send me a PM, if you're not far, I can possibly read those codes for you.
     
    S Keith likes this.
  6. ErickRival

    ErickRival Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    28
    13
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles , California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    If I reset the battery it'll turn on and I can drive away, it isn't until 10 miles down that it'll began to display the lights shown in the picture above. Once the lights are on I turn the car off and no longer will it want to turn on, the car currently is in the not wanting to turn on mode; I'll insert the pictures. I will go and pick up the scanner and see if it can gather any codes.
    IMG_6471.JPG IMG_6472.JPG
     
  7. S Keith

    S Keith Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    799
    317
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    You say your check engine light isn't on, but then you send a picture of your check engine light on.

    To clarify, the next time your car won't go into ready mode (whether that is right now or in the future), you need to read your codes before you do anything.

    The car is disabled for a reason. Your repeated 12V resets to drive it is risking potentially major damage to expensive components.

    Take JC up on his offer if he's nearby. He helped someone "local" to him recently, and they were very pleased.
     
    ErickRival likes this.
  8. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    14,550
    7,321
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    You should buy the MiniVci cable on Amazon, that will enable you to read all the codes on the Prius. Regular scanners can't read Prius specific codes.

    If you cannot restart the car after shutting it down........just means you shouldn't reset the car and start it multiple times (once or twice to see if the problem returns is max). It is a safety feature.....for your safety and the car's safety (so you don't ruin it anymore)
     
  9. ErickRival

    ErickRival Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    28
    13
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles , California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I was actually looking into that, since I read it through some posts. The only problem with that is it wouldn't arrive until next week, which would have me carless. Yet if that's the only option I'll have to proceed with that. Understood, thank you. I'm hoping I managed to send you a PM, wasn't sure exactly where to go to send it.
     
  10. S Keith

    S Keith Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    799
    317
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    Not sure if you realize this... you are already carless. Consider revising your thought process to, "when you have a car that disables itself periodically, you are without a car."

    The car disables itself to prevent damage or to prevent you from driving with a potential safety issue.

    If you're Amazon prime, you can typically get them in 1-2 days.
     
  11. ErickRival

    ErickRival Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    28
    13
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles , California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Yeah I completely understand and agree with you, at this point don't seek to take anymore short cuts and end up getting cut short. I meant it more towards if there was a faster solution such as anything I can check aside from leaving the car a few days. Would I be able to use it with a macbook?
     
  12. S Keith

    S Keith Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    799
    317
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    with bootcamp and win7-32bit, yes. If you use win7-64, the process to install the driver is more complex (command line, registry edits, etc.)
     
  13. kenoarto

    kenoarto Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    1,397
    373
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Isn't Torque Pro with PIDs good enough? Are there codes/functions that the mini VCI can get that Torque Pro with ?PIDs can not?
     
  14. S Keith

    S Keith Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    799
    317
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    I refer him to my signature in post #3, which includes multiple code reading options.

    On my phone I use Torque pro daily for logging battery data while I drive; however, it has now lost the ability to read any codes on any cars with 3 different ELM327 adapters from 3 different manufacturers. I also have Gen1 extended PIDs loaded.

    I have been meaning to install Torque Lite to see if I can get code reading back and try Pro on a tablet.

    I also have MiniVCI. For diagnostics, it can't be beat. Torque Pro will not read detail error codes - basically sub-codes to the main codes. In some cases, there can be a 25 different subcodes associated with the main code - each with their own troubleshooting chain. Torque pro will only pull the top level code.

    Also, as a mac user, he's almost certainly an iPhone user, which rules out Torque Pro.

    Steve
     
    #14 S Keith, Jun 30, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2016
    kenoarto likes this.
  15. kenoarto

    kenoarto Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    1,397
    373
    0
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Thanks for the super fast response. I thought you needed Torque Pro to use PIDs.
     
  16. S Keith

    S Keith Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    799
    317
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    Pretty sure you do need Pro for extended PIDs. I was just going to use Lite to try to get the ability to read codes back. I can go to the back and pull the safety plug - definitely going to generate a code... torque pro w/gen 1 and gen 2 PIDs detects no codes when queried.

    As I understand it, PIDs are not related to diagnostics or error codes. PIDs are essentially "channels" from which additional data may be pulled. The DTC reading function is not related to the extended PIDs in that regard. I just figure I've overloaded my phone/torque pro with probably over 100 extended PIDs between the two cars.

    Steve
     
  17. ErickRival

    ErickRival Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    28
    13
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles , California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Wanted to add that I installed the obdII and got 0 codes. My next step is to look into purchasing the vci or possibly finding someone with one that can troubleshoot it for me. I'd hate to purchase and not figure out how to program it, although I'll began to search youtube videos to see if I can discover some DIY's
     
  18. S Keith

    S Keith Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    799
    317
    0
    Location:
    AZ
    Vehicle:
    2003 Prius
    Were you able to connect with JC?
     
  19. ErickRival

    ErickRival Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    28
    13
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles , California
    Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Talking with him now. I actually will be receiving the mini vci tomorrow through amazon prime.
     
  20. strawbrad

    strawbrad http://minnesotahybridbatteries.com

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    916
    896
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Vehicle:
    2005 Prius
    Model:
    II
    Get the codes read ASAP.

    As a WAG the one and only one restart after a 12 volt reset points toward a high voltage leak. Does anyone know of any other faults that cause that behavior?

    Codes and especially the SUB codes will help locate the problem.

    Brad
     
Loading...