Programming new key fob

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Audio and Electronics' started by P Ma, May 9, 2016.

  1. P Ma

    P Ma Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    24
    1
    0
    When I start the chicken dance on my '05, I find that my car won't go into programming mode. Please advise!
     
  2. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    15,112
    7,756
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Do you have a proper working fob to duplicate?

    SM-N900P ?
     
  3. P Ma

    P Ma Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    24
    1
    0
  4. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    15,112
    7,756
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    The instructions on this site are correct, you just have to carefully repeat the process until it works.

    One possible reason is if you have more than 5 Fobs stored in the car's memory, if that's the case, it won't take another. 5 is the max
     
  5. P Ma

    P Ma Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    24
    1
    0
    Only one (or two) is (are) registered.
     
  6. P Ma

    P Ma Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    24
    1
    0
    I have tried it a number of times . The programming mode light never goes on and the blinking red light never goes off. Suggestion? What is SM-N900P?
     
  7. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    15,112
    7,756
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Ignore the sm-n900p, it's something my phone spits out when I reply

    Are you programming the keyfob for the key slot in the car?
     
  8. P Ma

    P Ma Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    24
    1
    0
  9. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    15,112
    7,756
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    There was 1 time out of about 20 that I have done, the key slot programming did not work. But since that car had the SKS functions, I never used the key slot anyways. I don't know what could be causing that problem for you.
     
  10. P Ma

    P Ma Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    24
    1
    0
    Can the new fob be programmed without the slot? Maybe, if I'd try that, the programming light would go on. How may I do it that way?
     
  11. P Ma

    P Ma Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    24
    1
    0
    Can the new fob be programmed without the slot? Maybe, if I'd try that, the programming light would go on. How may I do it that way? Is it necessary to have the programming mode light go on?
     
  12. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    15,112
    7,756
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Do you have sks functions on your car? The base model Prius are the only ones that require the key slot.
     
  13. P Ma

    P Ma Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    24
    1
    0
    I have SKS. Is it necessary to have the programming mode light go on? Were you able to do full programming on that twentieth new fob? Please direct me to instructions that don't involve the key slot.
     
  14. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    15,112
    7,756
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
  15. P Ma

    P Ma Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    24
    1
    0
    I just got around to trying the proper chicken dance. Thanks, JC. The new fob does its SKS functions now. However, it won't start the car when it's in the slot. Aren't, even, dead fobs supposed to start the car when they're in the slot?
     
  16. chiriqui

    chiriqui Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    17
    2
    0
    Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    Model:
    IV
    This might have been mentioned. Too many comments to search through.

    The key fob will only work, at least for me, after I took the metal key out of the old one and stuck it in the new one I programmed. Other wise the newly programmed one will only work if inserted in the key fob slot for starting the car

    $106 from a Miami Toyota dealer

    Make sure the small system battery in the trunk space is fully charged. I ran into. Shit storm of blinking lights and dead car before I ran a jumper to this battery from another car

    Scared me off going on to part B., which im sure will work.

    Brought this 2004 Prius to Panama with me in 2007. STILL going strong. First key fob fell apart. Two years ago I replaced it. Then a month ago I lost it the day my loyal dog died at the vets when I drove off with it on the back window and my wife had her key in her purse. Ugh. Last time I was at the Toyota dealer in David and finally had to read instructions to them from this site. Their dealer instructions were not working for them

    They now sell a Prius,not sure the version. I was maybe the the first one in the country with one
     
  17. Baldbubba

    Baldbubba Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    142
    25
    0
    Location:
    in PRIUS down by the river
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    I have an 08 and wanting to know how to clear some of the fobs out I'm not sure if I have reached five I'm sure I have four possibly five I am the third owner of this vehicle how do you clear that memory out and reestablish
     
  18. JC91006

    JC91006 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2013
    15,112
    7,756
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    V
    Just because you're the 3rd owner, it does not mean there are extra keys stored in the cars memory. You would have to have lost keys 3 times to get 3 additional keys added. That's pretty rare.
     
  19. Baldbubba

    Baldbubba Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    142
    25
    0
    Location:
    in PRIUS down by the river
    Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    II
    ok thanks,,, i plan on finding a dealer to purchase another fob from ,and doing the chicken dance to program it thanks for sharing ur knowledge
     
  20. dolj

    dolj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    5,873
    3,125
    0
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    You can pay the dealer to check how many keys are programmed and if more than the one (??) you have, she can do an "Erase All Keys Except This One" function. If you had Techstream, you could do this yourself.

    You can then add your new one yourself later, using the chicken dance.
     
Loading...