1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Project Priethius

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Accessories and Modifications' started by Thetechnician, Sep 9, 2018.

1. Thetechnician

Thetechnician New Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    Priethius_The_Beast_Taxi-Side.jpg

The picture is the end result we will achieve. The goal is to make the Prius better.

I am putting together a team. To fight the battles ordinary people can't. You need to be smarter than the average bear. No need for experience with modifications, if you can find out what is required and carry it out then it should be fine. This is a paying gig.

There are minimum requirements: you should be enthusiastic, optimistic, and own a Prius. A do it youself-er, driven, and comfortable around computers.

That said, I'll share my story. My name is Allen, and I am an electronics technician. I also own a proper taxi company. We use the Gen. III Prius, cause it rocks so hard as a taxi. Of course the key is keeping up with the maintenance. But it is a WORKHORSE. If I had to grade it, it would get a low B. Maybe even B-.

The taxi environment is a hostile one. Car companies fret to give us their product to test, cause we will put it through the ringer, 7 days a week, 24 hrs a day.

Like I said, we use the Prius in daily operations. As my company evolves toward zero emissions, I am compelled to try to improve on our car's all electric range. The car I am eyeing is a 2012 regular Prius. I love the Gen. III design. It's Toyota's best so far.

So I want to at least make one into a version matching the specifications of the current Prius Prime - roughly 9 kW of capacity, plugs in, the battery must Regen from the car. And for fun, we will make it power the house. Whoever participates will receive credit. The goal is to create a diy instruction set for those who wish to make their Gen III more eco-friendly.