1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Proper Introduction - 2017 Prius Three

Discussion in 'Newbie Forum' started by Valiant V, Apr 30, 2021.

1. Valiant V

Valiant V Member

Vehicle:
    2017 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    Hi all,

I don't know if people will find this interesting or good insomnia material, but in the spirit of introducing myself and how I came to be here - here goes.

We bought our first Prius on April 26th. A used 2017 "Three" with about 66,000 on it. Black on black, one-owner, great CarFax record (good maint at dealers, one minor accident). I'd call it "very clean".

Never owned a Toyota previously - was driving a 2000 Ranger with 344,000 miles on it. Except for a Datsun 240Z - never owned a foreign car before. Nothing against them, but being a former Buick mechanic, I was always in the "Buy American" mindset. (Owning a couple of Fords broke me of that.) That Honda, Toyota, and Nissan regularly get better reliability and quality ratings may also have been a factor.

Anyway - about me - "Plymouth Troubleshooter" in 1977, former mechanic (Buick Dealership) then went white collar and just worked on my own vehicles since then. Though I don't do heavy engine or transmission work, I pretty much do everything myself - including replacing the entire front suspension on the above-mentioned Ford Ranger. Doing brakes "to the backing plates" and even replacing lines is no big deal. Since I "Retired" from the corporate life about 12 years ago, I've become an organic farmer (no, there's no money in it) including raising heritage pork and old-breed chickens and turkeys. So I guess there is a little "tree hugger" in me.