1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Pros and Cons of Stand-Alone TPMS System

Discussion in 'Gen 3 Prius Main Forum' started by PriusII&C, Feb 2, 2022.

Tags:
  1. PriusII&C

PriusII&C Active Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    II
    A few days ago the TPMS light of my 2012 Prius started turning on and staying on. At this point I have a few options: A: replacing all TPMS sensors, B: replacing all batteries DIY, C: installing a stand-alone system with external sensors, D: disabling the warning light and installing a stand-alone system with internal sensors.

I am inclined towards option D. Many stand-alone systems provide real time tire pressure and temperature values, and are very inexpensive, especially installed DIY.

But I have never done this before. So I'd like to get your opinion.

2. xliderider

xliderider Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Three
    In the same boat with my 2010 Camry.

Amazon sells Denso TPMS sensors that are quite reasonable if you can find someone who can install them and successfully program them.

Posted via the PriusChat mobile app.

3. Tombukt2

Tombukt2 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I was under the impression that the programmable type sensors are pretty much a push button affair and pretty easy to do maybe in tech stream. In text stream I was just trying to turn mine off and couldn't do it with a dealer text stream computer maybe I'm not doing it right. I'm tired of light tyres never low I check very often just because I'm used to motorcycles etc.

4. Mendel Leisk

Mendel Leisk Senior Member

Greater Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Vehicle:
    2010 Prius
    Model:
    Touring
    E: do nothing?

Johnny Cakes likes this.
  5. Leadfoot J. McCoalroller

Leadfoot J. McCoalroller Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2018 Prius c
    Model:
    Two