1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Purse tray accessory warning

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Bob Allen, Apr 24, 2009.

1. Bob Allen

Bob Allen Captainbaba

Vehicle:
    2004 Prius
    I noticed an item in the accessory forum that I think deserves a cautionary note. The $18.98 gizmo is a tray that fits on the hump between the two front seats, in front of the console. It's held in place by velcro and is intended to hold your purse, wallet, sunglasses, etc. Admittedly, what to do with these items is a problem, but this is a dangerous solution. As a pilot, I am cautious of anything that can get into the rudder pedals of the airplane, including pop cans, bags, etc; exactly the type of items one would place on this tray, and which would create the same hazard. A velcro bin would work better, although it would prevent opening the secret drawer in the front of the console.

Just a thought.

Bob

4 people like this.
  2. Stev0

Stev0 Honorary Hong Kong Cavalier

Vehicle:
    2022 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Why not just put them IN that storage thing between the two seats?

3. qbee42

qbee42 My other car is a boat

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    I've had a soda can roll under a rudder pedal. That's not fun at all.

Tom

4. Boo

Boo Boola Boola Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I like your velcro bin idea. In fact, that's what I've long had. I velcro'd a center-hump litter basket down there. I can partially open the secret drawer when the litter basket's in place. But if I ever need to open the drawer fully, it's easy to just un-velcro and move the litter basket.

5. Frayadjacent

Frayadjacent Resident Conservative

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    I'd think putting anything down there, aside from possibly shifting and interfering with pedal function... would block the little slide out tray in the center console... and that's where I keep my gun.

6. Danny