1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Question about head gasket repair ... worth it?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by ewood, Nov 4, 2013.

1. ewood

ewood Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I was told that I need a head gasket repair. I get prices from dealers around $1500 dollars. I drive a 2006 Prius with 152000 miles. They guarantee the work for one year. I read on-line that these things can go frequently once it is a problem.

Not sure to dump the car beofe it becomes a money pit or is it worth it getting it repaired. What are the opinions of the experts?

Thanks, Eric

2. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
    (I am no expert)

My understanding is that head gasket issues are most likely cooling system issues, have they identified or fixed what caused the head gasket failure?

SFO likes this.
  3. ewood

ewood Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2006 Prius
    Model:
    N/A

They did not mention a coolent system issue. I notice that the oil was low. They said that it is starting to drip oil. They did not mention a coolent system issue or a cause.

4. Mike500

Mike500 Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Two
    You are also likely to have a warped head, if you need to replace the head gasket.

The head will likely also need to be ground flat.

If that is included, $1500 is probably worth it. Let's hope that they will not spring it on you and up the cost, after the work starts.

5. Britprius

Britprius Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Another way of looking at this is to have a lower millage engine fitted. This should be possible at or below the $1500 price quoted, and would get round the problem of a possible repeat failure and end up with a lower millage engine.

John (Britprius)

6. frodoz737

frodoz737 Top Wrench

Vehicle:
    2015 Prius
    Model: