1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Question to the Prius members

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Main Forum' started by Zerokul, Mar 22, 2021.

1. Zerokul

Zerokul New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I will be buying a gen 2 prius from a family friend in April (with a friend discount). The car has 125k miles and a dead 12v battery. The owner mentioned that it could use an oil change as well. I am a pretty good mechanic, but never looked at hybrids since they were a tad more than I was comfortable working on.

I plan on getting a battery swap (not sure if I want to do the optoma yellow, or OEM, or AGM with lead swaps), and taking it through a quick drive through oil change and head down home (460 miles).

Any warning signs I should be looking for? I will be limited on the tools I have since I will be flying in and borrowing hand tools from them to get the job done.

Any wisdom is appreciated. I thank you all in advance.

privilege likes this.
  2. SFO

SFO Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Welcome to PriusChat!!
    How long has the vehicle been sitting unused; days, weeks, months?

There is a possibility that the HV battery has gone south from sitting too long.

Raytheeagle, strawbrad and bisco like this.
  3. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    there are a lot of things on a 13 year old hybrid to be concerned about.

#1 is, who is going to repair it?

edthefox5 and Raytheeagle like this.
  4. Zerokul

Zerokul New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Weird. I thought I replied, but i can't see it for some odd reason.

I will update the adventure as I get closer.

I have a backup plan to get it transported back after I fly for the title and if I fail to get it running

5. bisco

bisco cookie crumbler

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base