1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Question: WHY DID YOU BUY A HYBRID?

Discussion in 'Fred's House of Pancakes' started by Jplion97, Dec 1, 2016.

1. Jplion97

Jplion97 New Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    ----USA----
    Hello all, I am a student at Keene State College and am working on a research paper that asks the question "Why Do People Buy Hybrid Cars". I thought it would be a great opportunity to ask all of you and to hear your feedback on why you chose your hybrid. Please let me know your reasoning, it would be greatly appreciated! Thank You.

2. JimboPalmer

JimboPalmer Tsar of all the Rushers

Vehicle:
    2012 Prius v wagon
    Model:
    Three
  3. ETC(SS)

ETC(SS) The OTHER One Percenter.....

Vehicle:
    Other Non-Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A
    Actually?
    I didn't.
    My company bought one because they wanted a $25,000 placard to put a "we REALLY care!" sticker on.

As it turns out, Big Bell will probably benefit from a hybrid advantage that most new buyers trade away, that being the TCO benefit that Priuses have by being moderately priced, and fairly dependable AS WELL as the superior fuel efficiency if you keep it long enough to leg out the initial higher buy-in cost.
    See also: Hybrid Premium.

If I were to buy a new car today, I would certainly consider a hybrid, and maybe even a Prius (NOT a G4!!!)

Gas is cheap.
    The Hybrid market is soft.
    Interest rates have bottomed out.
    (edit......while I still can) The technology is proven, and sound.

If this trend continues, and if the G4 undergoes some serious mid-course corrections in the styling department and if they don't wind up being the automotive equivalent of Samsung's Note-7 then the G4 or the Prime would be.....COULD be the bargain of the century in a year.

#3 ETC(SS), Dec 1, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2016
  4. wjtracy

wjtracy Senior Member

Vehicle:
    Other Hybrid
    Model:
    N/A