Record your Prime and Gas Fill-ups

Discussion in 'Prime Fuel Economy & EV Range' started by ukr2, Jan 28, 2017.

  1. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    575
    451
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Yes, I think that is the only way to accurately calculate HV MPG. Any EV mode driving will through off the calculation. In fact if you have any charge left for EV mode range, even if you switch to HV mode, it will give you slightly better MPG than gas only HV mode with depleted charge, in my experience.
     
    HPrimeAdvanced and walterm like this.
  2. HypersonicPrime

    HypersonicPrime Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    64
    44
    3
    Location:
    NC, USA
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    Yeah it seems the calculation method I mentioned will actually give engine-on MPG and engine-off miles/kWh. Interesting, but not exactly what I'd hoped for. I'd partially wanted HV and EV to compare to the EPA numbers. However, it seems that the large majority of the time my trips will be either full EV or majority HV and I can get decent enough estimates for EV from the diary and HV from the MPG indicator, although the MPG will be biased high from the initial EV range, which I could subtract out or zero the trip meter when EV mode runs out.
     
  3. Son of Gloin

    Son of Gloin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    413
    312
    0
    Location:
    Lafayette, IN
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    All-righty, then... as of now (just a few minutes ago), this is what the "end" of the spreadsheet for recording our gas fill-ups looks like (see below)....

    So... do I just start entering the info for time I've filled up our Prime on the 29th of Sep on line 46... and then use line 47 for when I filled it up again on the 30th? I guess what I'm really asking is this: if I enter data on line 46 (and then 47), will the bold-face TOTALs and AVERAGEs info just shift down to the next line/s... ending up on line 48????

    upload_2017-10-9_13-8-15.png
     
  4. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    2,419
    3,001
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    If it works like an Excel or Libre Office spreadsheet, you'd need to insert a row above row 46. Then those formulas in row 46 would move to 47 and self-edit to include the data in the new row 46.
     
  5. Skylis A

    Skylis A Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    957
    611
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    I'm still waiting until I need to get more gas, 30 days in, plus a few road trips and I'm still on the original tank. My trip meter says 102 mpg so far. Stay tuned :D

    Actually, so does the mpg column mean, mpg since last fill-up, or lifetime mpg?
     
    HPrimeAdvanced likes this.
  6. Son of Gloin

    Son of Gloin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    413
    312
    0
    Location:
    Lafayette, IN
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Oh-k-a-a-a-y... but I'm not at all familiar with Excel or Libre Office. I'm on a Mac, and I'm familiar with Open Office (so I know how to insert a new row using that... easy-peasy!), but I just can't figure this out. :mad: I don't see / find anything on the gas fill-ups spreadsheet that looks like it would allow a new / blank row to be inserted :confused: , and I sure don't want to risk "gumming things up" for everyone :unsure:....

    (I have noticed that little black arrow -- pointing up -- when I position the cursor on any of the lines dividing the rows o_O, but........)
     
  7. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    2,419
    3,001
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Open Office is essentially the same as Libre Office, just a better supported fork of the original OO. If I'm not mistaken, this is a Google Doc, so things may be a little different. For one thing, it doesn't show the formulas. And I think @ukr2 is maintaining the sheet so probably should be making sure there are open rows to add data. But, if you control click on the row number, you get a pop up menu like this:
    Screen Shot 2017-10-10 at 9.52.07 AM.png
     
    Son of Gloin and Prodigyplace like this.
  8. Son of Gloin

    Son of Gloin Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    413
    312
    0
    Location:
    Lafayette, IN
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    Thanks, "jerrymildred"... and even though that wasn't quite it, I gathered the nerve to "experiment" a bit, and below is what showed up when "RIGHT-Clicking" on the row number / block. So I've entered my info... but NOW there are "extra" rows between my last entry and the TOTALS and AVERAGES INFO... AND those figures did NOT change when I initially entered my info... AND they did not change when I "cut" those five rows (47-52) from the spreadsheet again.

    They SHOULD change with new entries...yes? Hopefully I haven't destroyed anything :( ... and hopefully ukr2 can fix that up for me / us without getting the urge to destroy ME... :whistle: ....
    upload_2017-10-10_19-22-38.png
     
    jerrymildred likes this.
  9. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    2,419
    3,001
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    Sorry. I thought you said you were using a Mac. I have no "right click" on mine; control or command click does the same as well as a 2-finger click on the magic touch pad, which is what I normally do.

    It is a little scary that the thing doesn't show the formulas so you can know if they got adjusted properly when moved. With that many digits after the decimal points, there should have been some change.

    Sorry about that @ukr2! :oops:
     
  10. Skylis A

    Skylis A Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    957
    611
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    So, if I fill up irregularly (e.g., 3 gallons this week, 2 gallons another week), just to keep me from transporting unnecessary extra weight from gas that I won't need, how do I fill in an entry, and again, is the mpg column lifetime mpg or mpg since... when?
     
  11. Salamander_King

    Salamander_King Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    575
    451
    0
    Location:
    New England
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
    No you can't use this method to calculate mpg if you do partial fill. You need to fill the tank in between to know actual amount of gas used in the interval.
     
    HPrimeAdvanced likes this.
  12. jerrymildred

    jerrymildred Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    2,419
    3,001
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Vehicle:
    2013 Prius
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    You'll need two complete fills. Then you calculate the miles between complete fills and divide by the gallons of all the partial fills and the second complete fill.
     
    bisco and Salamander_King like this.
  13. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,142
    1,504
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    What is this gas fill-up thing everyone talks about? :D I'm at 1,287 on the ODO and still have 1/2 tank. Guess I'll dig out the manual next year to see what it's all about.:p
     
  14. AnneLW

    AnneLW Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2017
    55
    34
    0
    Location:
    California desert
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Spotted this thread too late to recall the relevant info.

    I received my Prime mid-September with a full tank. I've been told it's not good to drive around with a near-empty tank, so around New years, with the tank 1/4 full and 1900 miles driven, I filled it.
     
    bisco likes this.
  15. bisco

    bisco cookie crumbler

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    63,358
    23,140
    0
    Location:
    boston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius Plug-in
    Model:
    Plug-in Base
    well done!(y)
     
  16. stevepea

    stevepea Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2017
    424
    434
    0
    Location:
    California
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Plus
    Well, just finished the first couple weeks of a new temporary job, and am I impressed with the Prime.

    For 2-3 months, I have a 84-ish mile (round trip) commute six days a week, with no place to charge except at home each night, meaning gas will be used. But surprisingly, I managed to get through all 12 round trips for the first two weeks on one tank of gas!

    Commute was the same, but times and conditions were different (rush hour, non-rush hour, weekends, etc). Engaged the cruise control only on the last half of the return trips (always at night on an open freeway) set to 65mph, for the other 3/4ths of each trip drove without cruise control. Tried to use EV in the best places (slower traffic), and always had it in "B" for EV (and of course back to "D" for HV). Never went above 65mph (and some of the time it was bumper-to-bumper). No A/C or heat needed.

    It was so nice going almost 1,000 miles before pulling up into the gas station again yesterday to top it off for the next two weeks!

    I also figured I can do all that charging and still (barely) stay in my lower electric tier, since I hardly use much electricity otherwise. If I had a Volt or Tesla or other EV with longer EV range, I would definitely have to enter the much-more-expensive middle tier of electric rates. I think an all-EV car is in everyone's future not too long from now, but for now I've very happy with the Prime. Who would've thought, 12 roundtrips like that one 1 tank of gas.
     
    priuscatprimeguy likes this.
  17. muleman

    muleman Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    40
    22
    0
    Location:
    rochester ny
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Premium
  18. RW5207

    RW5207 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    31
    2
    0
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Vehicle:
    2002 Prius
    Model:
    I
    We've owned a 2002, a 2005 and currently have a 2010 and a new 2017 Prime Advanced. Picked up the Prime on 1/3/2018 and as of 2/9/2018 have about 1350 miles on it...with 3/8 of a tank of gas remaining.

    Wife's daily commute is about 18 miles roundtrip. We are charging with 120V at the moment. We generally get 26-30 miles on a full charge, which is up from the first week when we were getting 23-25. When it switches from EV to HV our faces drop...EV is so cool!

    Each version gets more refined.
     
    Mark57 likes this.
  19. Mark57

    Mark57 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2009
    2,142
    1,504
    0
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Vehicle:
    2017 Prius Prime
    Model:
    Prime Advanced
    You might put this line in your signature and/or change your vehicle type in your profile. It helps us know what you have when you post or ask a question.

    Agreed, they just get better and better. I've become an EV addict.;)
     
  20. chenderson2

    chenderson2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    80
    47
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Vehicle:
    2012 Prius
    Model:
    Four
    I entered my car several months ago, but now (after my first fill-up) it wants me to apply for permission to get into it. Did I have it and lose it, or did it not require that previously?
     
Loading...