1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Red triangle of death only when turning on headlights

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by beday beday, Jun 1, 2020.

1. beday beday

beday beday New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    Hello the people of Prius chat, I am new to prius. I purchased a gen2 w/nav with 156k recently. Car was working fine for a couple of month avaraging 35-40mpg but suddenly it has developed a red triangle light show. I have searched the forum for answers but i could not find one that answered this unique issure that i'm having. and here at it....

The red triangle comes on with VSC and ( ! ) lights only when turning headlights on and stays on during runing even when headlights are off but, it goes off when restarting the car. i could drive miles without the lights coming on unless i turn the lights on. i have checked all the fuses.

HELP!!!!!!!

2. SFO

SFO Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    Welcome to PriusChat!!

Happen to have any OBD2 codes (DTCs) that you can share with us?

3. beday beday

beday beday New Member

Vehicle:
    2008 Prius
    Model:
    Base
    I ran 'faulty codes' on Torque pro but nothing came up. This is when the warning lights were on the dash. What's weird is, even though no codes come up, when i use the "clear codes" function, it clears the lights but the come back as soon as I turn on the headlights.
    I will take it to a shop as soon as I get the tabs updated ( which i couldn't do this past couple of month due to DMV being closed).

4. SFO

SFO Senior Member

Vehicle:
    2007 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    You may need to load extra Gen2 specific PIDs into Torque, or try using a different app like Dr Prius or Hybrid Assistant.

CA state troopers aren't currently enforcing tabs as our DMV is also closed, check and see if this might also apply in your state as well.