1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Reducing oil dilution in priusII

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by epoch_time, Mar 27, 2018.

1. epoch_time

epoch_time Active Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    N/A
    I've been using torque apk for many years continously.
    Short Term Fuel trim is one of the guages I keep my eye on.
    I've seen short term fuel trim as high at -19 (19% added fuel) durring engine warm up (86-150 degrees F).
    My prius has 98k miles with orignal maf,plugs,injectors and I have never cleaned the maf yet.
    My fuel trim might be higher than yours if you have changed maf, plugs or injectors.
    To reduce oil dilution with unburnt gasoline I drive my prius in braking gear (B mode) while the engine is warming up.
    When releasing the accelerator pedel in B mode durring warm-up (at speeds above say 25mph) the injectors stop injecting gasoline which normally only happens once the engine is warmed up (150 F and above and in D=drive mode).
    But durring engine warm-up injectors don't stop injecting gasoline while in D (drive) gear unless the engine is warmed to 150 F and above.

If I happen to get stuck at a red traffic light while in B (down hill engine braking) mode/gear the gasoline engine (ice) will not stop running. So I will put the transmission back to D (drive) mode to let the engine stop running while at a red light.
    If you left transmission in B mode while at a red light and engine is under 150 F the fuel trim will remain high and the engine will not stop running and injecting extra fuel thus diluting the oil.