1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Regen braking has become more aggressive?

Discussion in 'Gen 2 Prius Care, Maintenance and Troubleshooting' started by Erin Crosland, Dec 19, 2021.

1. Erin Crosland

Erin Crosland New Member

Vehicle:
    2009 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    I'm wondering if anyone has any thoughts on why the behavior of the regenerative braking seems recently to have changed slightly in my car.

I'm no expert, but I think that's what I'm observing. However, to be more precise, perhaps it's not "braking" as such, since what I'm observing doesn't happen when I'm pressing on the brake pedal, but rather when I completely let off the gas and have neither pedal pressed. Still, I notice on the display that, in these circumstances, power is being regenerated and stored in the battery.

The differences I've noticed are these: the regen braking seems to "grip" (for want of a better word) more abruptly as it starts to slow the car; the slowing happens more rapidly; the noise is louder; there may be a little bit of vibration. This is most noticeable at freeway speeds, and only when I let my foot off the accelerator entirely.

None of these symptoms is particularly marked. For instance, I say that it's louder, but it isn't "loud" per se. The change is not significant enough that I would necessarily think something was off if I were driving the car for the first time. But I've been driving the car long enough that I can sense something is subtly different than it was.

Two other things that may or may not be relevant:
    1. The temperatures have recently dropped, though they are still above freezing.
    2. I recently got a new catalytic converter, since the original was stolen from my car. I don't believe I noticed the change right after the replacement, but only now after a couple of weeks.

I appreciate your time, and any advice you might be able to give.

Erin

2009 Prius Touring