1. Attachments are working again! Check out this thread for more details and to report any other bugs.

Rehabilitating NHW11 Cells

Discussion in 'Generation 1 Prius Discussion' started by Jerry G., Mar 3, 2016.

1. Jerry G.

Jerry G. Junior Member

Vehicle:
    2011 Prius
    Model:
    Two
    Hello Prius Gurus,

I've read countless posts from Bob and other great minds regarding rebuilding/testing of traction battery cells and consider this forum the foremost expert on Priuses on the web today. I looked at Bob's analysis of charging the cells with the graphs, which was extremely intuitive but much went over my head as I have limited knowledge on these kinds of battery cells.
    I am in the process of reconditioning 3 Gen1 Priuses for sale. I have 2 Priuses in our family and have Priusitis. I have a small shop that I do my repairs in and rehab Gen1 and Gen2 cars to keep them on the road and out of the landfills. They are an incredible feat of genius engineering that just work.

I could use the forums' help if you can. Anyway, I have two complete Gen1 traction battery packs that I bought for parts that have sat on a shelf for a very long time. They were deemed bad originally. I am trying to rehab these as two of the three Gen 1's I have need new traction batteries and one was completely missing. I've successfully rebuilt and re-balanced one for my own car, which has lasted two years now and going strong.